Applied Sustainability Center Selects Seven Cities for Sustainable Energy Program

Applied Sustainability Center Selects Seven Cities for Sustainable Energy Program
Photo Submitted

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The Applied Sustainability Center of the Sam M. Walton College of Business at the University of Arkansas has selected seven Arkansas cities to participate in the second year of its Sustainable Energy Scorecards and Education for Municipalities program. The Arkansas Community Foundation awarded a two-year grant for the program to the center as part of the foundation’s Sustainable Energy Initiative.

“Cities around the country are playing a central role in driving energy efficiency and renewable energy, and Arkansas cities stand to reap significant benefits in terms of job creation, retained wealth and attracting new investment,” said Michele Halsell, managing director of the Applied Sustainability Center. “The cities participating in the program will benefit from learning about the municipal policy innovations and the success stories of other cities nationally and through their attendance at the Sustainable Energy Academy this summer at the University of Arkansas.”

Bryant, Eureka Springs, Hot Springs, Monticello, Mountain Home, Rogers and Russellville were chosen for the second year of the program. Cities were selected for diversity in population and utility type. The Applied Sustainability Center chose participants based on their previous support for sustainability initiatives and the ideas and commitment expressed in their applications to the program. The program will provide municipal leaders with information, tools and resources that they can use to reap the benefits of energy efficiency and renewable energy for their communities.

The cities of Arkadelphia, Fayetteville, Gould, Harrison, North Little Rock, Searcy and Wynne participated in the first program last year.

The Sustainable Energy Scorecards and Education for Municipalities program includes the provision of baseline data on energy usage, a municipal energy education workshop to be conducted by the Applied Sustainability Center in each city, monthly energy strategy calls and webinars and the Summer Energy Academy. Cities also will have the option to work with University of Arkansas students on energy efficiency and renewable energy projects.

There is no charge for cities to participate, but city managers and mayors have committed the participation of city staff and stakeholders from their communities.


Michele Halsell, managing director
Applied Sustainability Center

David Speer, senior director of communications
Sam M. Walton College of Business


Founding Faculty Member Takes Helm in Department of Biomedical Engineering

Jeffrey Wolchok, also well-known for his strong record as a student mentor, will assume his new duties July 1.

New 'International in NWA' Podcast Available

The episode, titled "Papers Please! The Importance of Keeping Immigration Documents," features a conversation with Adam Cohen, an attorney in the Memphis office of Siskind Susser.

Angela Oxford to Leave the University, but Continues With Community Engagement

There will be a "see you later" drop-in reception on July 12 from 3 p.m. - 5 p.m. in the Center for Community Engagement office in the Arkansas Union A643.

Did Biosecurity Lessons in 2015 Curb the 2022 Bird Flu Outbreak Deaths? An Arkansas Agricultural Economist Has a Clue.

Jada Thompson, assistant professor of agribusiness in the Department of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness, said one factor indicates proper biosecurity may have had a significant impact.

Spring 2022 Chancellor's and Deans' Lists Now Available

Students with a 4.0 GPA qualify for the Chancellor’s List; students with averages between 3.75 and 4.0 are named to the Dean’s List.

News Daily