Fulbright College Introduces 2018 Sturgis Fellows

Clockwise from the top left are Mia Alshami, Josie Carson, Sarkis "Sam" Kalajyan and Beck Williams.
Photo Submitted

Clockwise from the top left are Mia Alshami, Josie Carson, Sarkis "Sam" Kalajyan and Beck Williams.

Four talented, driven Arkansas high school graduates joined the distinguished list of Sturgis Fellows in the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences this fall.

The 2018 class members are: Mia Alshami of Little Rock, Josie Carson of Pearcy, Sarkis "Sam" Kalajyan of Hot Springs, and Beck Williams of Fort Smith.

“We are very excited to have these scholars join Fulbright College,” said Todd Shields, dean of Fulbright College. “They are among the best and brightest students from across the state of Arkansas, and have already accomplished so much. We can’t wait to see what they’ll achieve next!”

The Sturgis Fellowship is the University of Arkansas' oldest and among its the most prestigious fellowship programs. It awards each fellow $72,000 over four years, covering tuition, room and board, and provides support for educational tools such as computer hardware and software, high-quality musical instruments, professional journals and participation at academic conferences. Sturgis Fellows must pursue a major within Fulbright College, complete an intensive academic program and graduate with honors. They are also encouraged to study abroad.

The fellowships are made possible by the continual support of the Roy and Christine Sturgis Charitable and Educational Trust.

Meet these scholars and read more in the Fulbright REVIEW.


Kirstin Erickson, director
Fulbright College Honors Program
479-575-2509, kirstin@uark.edu

Andra Parrish Liwag, director of communications
J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences
479-575-4393, liwag@uark.edu


Groundbreaking for Fine Arts Center Restoration Nov. 29

The U of A will host a groundbreaking ceremony for the restoration of the Fine Arts Center at 11 a.m. Tuesday, Nov. 29, at the courtyard off Garland Avenue. The event is free and open to the public.

Ranch Horse Team Goes from Stock Horse of Texas World Show Reserve Champ to Overall Title

The U of A ranch horse team won the overall Division II collegiate title at this year's event in October, and student Jessica Bookout won the reserve all-around championship.

Honors College Recognizes Exceptional Faculty

The Honors College will recognize eight faculty members at the annual Honors College Faculty Reception from 5:30-7 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 6, in the Fowler House Conservatory.

Malloy, Shumaker, Kelley Win Hoyt Purvis Awards for Aiding International Programs

Sarah Malloy of the Office of Study Abroad, Camilla Shumaker of ITS and Christopher Kelley of the School of Law were honored with the Hoyt Purvis Award for their service to the field of international education.

Joe Hatfield, Communication Faculty Member, Wins Dissertation of the Year Award

Hatfield's dissertation merges multiple methodological frameworks to analyze the mediated history of trans suicide, with a focus on the 2014 suicide of 17-year-old Leelah Alcorn.

News Daily