School of Law Hosts 19 Top Scholars from 15 Schools for Tax Law Conference

Association for Mid-career Tax Law Professors Conference Participants
Photo Submitted

Association for Mid-career Tax Law Professors Conference Participants

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — The University of Arkansas hosted top tax scholars from across the country for the Third Annual Conference of The Association for Mid-career Tax Law Professors May 22-23.

The conference included 19 faculty members from 15 law schools including:

  • Jordan Barry, professor and Herzog Endowed Scholar, University of San Diego School of Law
  • Jennifer Bird-Pollan, James & Mary Lassiter Associate Professor of Law, University of Kentucky College of Law
  • John Brooks II, professor, Georgetown University Law Center
  • Emily Cauble, associate professor, DePaul University College of Law
  • Steven Dean, professor, Brooklyn Law School
  • Mirit Eyal-Cohen, professor, University of Alabama School of Law
  • Heather Field, professor and Eucalyptus Foundation Chair, UC Hastings College of the Law
  • William E. Foster, associate professor and associate dean for academic affairs, University of Arkansas School of Law
  • Brian Galle, professor, Georgetown University Law Center
  • David Herzig, professor and Michael and Dianne Swygert Research Fellow, Valparaiso University Law School
  • Rebecca Kysar, professor, Brooklyn Law School
  • Sarah Lawsky, professor, Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law
  • Charlene Luke, professor, University of Florida Levin College of Law
  • Susan Morse, professor, The University of Texas at Austin School of Law
  • Shu-Yi Oei, visiting faculty, Boston College Law School
  • Leigh Osofsky, professor, University of Miami School of Law
  • Miranda Perry Fleischer, professor, University of San Diego School of Law
  • David Walker, professor and Maurice Poch Faculty Research Scholar, Boston University School of Law
  • Del Wright, associate professor, Valparaiso University Law School

The Association for Mid-Career Tax Law professors holds a recurring conference intended to bring together relatively recently-tenured professors of tax law for frank scholarly discussion. The exchange is designed to advance attendees' research by looking for opportunities for the writer to expand, explain, refine or otherwise improve his or her project.

Eligible participants must have been voted tenure by a graduate-degree-granting institution within the past 10 years. At the conference, each presents a working paper and serves as lead discussant for a colleague's paper. Participants are expected to read all of the presented papers prior to the conference.

This is the first time the University of Arkansas School of Law has hosted the conference. Bird-Pollan, Foster, Galle, Morse and Perry Fleischer served as members of the 2017 conference program committee. 


Darinda Sharp, director of communications
School of Law


Scholarship Gift Inspired by Research Assistantship and Faculty Mentor

A Campaign Arkansas gift from alumnus Kaiyuan Chen will create a scholarship for undergraduates pursuing research in physics. 

NSF Grant to Support Professor's, Graduate Student's Interdisciplinary Research

Professor Steve Tung and graduate student Bo Ma have received an NSF I-Corps grant to explore the commercialization of the pair's nanofluidic system for DNA sequencing.

World Trade Center Arkansas Launches 'Gateways' Podcast Series

The Gateways podcast will help Arkansas companies understand and overcome complex issues in global commerce, trade and business.

Training Course Prepares Drone Pilots to Take FAA Certification Exam

This four-session course begins Jan. 20 and teaches best practices and practical, hands-on skills to fly unmanned aircraft safely and legally.

Kim Needy Named Interim Vice Provost for Research and Innovation

Dean Kim Needy and associate professor of history Trish Starks will co-chair the search committee for a permanent vice provost.

Newswire Daily