SurfTec Receives $1.2 Million Energy Award to Develop Novel Coating

SurfTec CEO Samuel Beckford and Min Zou.
Whit Pruitt

SurfTec CEO Samuel Beckford and Min Zou.

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The Department of Energy has awarded $1.2 million to SurfTec LLC, a company affiliated with the U of A Technology Development Foundation, to continue developing a nanoparticle-based coating to replace lead-based journal bearings in the next generation of electric machines.

SurfTec is located at the Arkansas Research and Technology Park and was founded by CEO Samuel Beckford and Min Zou, professor of mechanical engineering. Beckford, while a graduate student at the U of A, and Zou discovered a novel approach that significantly improved wear resistance of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) coatings, which are applied to the surfaces of tools and cooking ware to reduce friction and adhesion.

For the past six years, researchers in Zou’s laboratory and, more recently, at SurfTec, have refined and tested a solid lubricant coating – a thinner and more durable PTFE – to reduce friction and wear in manufacturing equipment. Beckford said testing has demonstrated that SurfTec’s coating compares favorably to standard solid lubricant coatings used by industry.

Journal bearings are mechanical devices meant to reduce friction between the surfaces of moving parts in machine components. The U.S. Department of Energy is specifically interested in new products that can reduce friction in high-speed, medium-voltage electric motors and generator systems. Beckford said that about half of all electric motor problems and breakdowns are due to bearing failures. Also, to improve reliability and reduce negative environmental impact of lead-based bearing materials, industry and research groups have concentrated on developing new lead-free bearing materials.

“The use of low-friction polymer coatings on the surface of bearings is an attractive option to reduce friction and wear during start/stop or transient operation,” Beckford said. “Our coating could potentially address this problem, while also reducing costs, complexity and oil consumption.”

Successful integration of SufTec’s nanomaterial coating in journal bearings could reduce friction by 10 percent and increase the life of parts by 40 percent, Beckford said. If achieved, these outcomes would meet the Department of Energy’s goal of using lead-free bearings and reducing energy losses in high speed, megawatt class, electric motors and generator systems.

About the University of Arkansas: The University of Arkansas provides an internationally competitive education for undergraduate and graduate students in more than 200 academic programs. The university contributes new knowledge, economic development, basic and applied research, and creative activity while also providing service to academic and professional disciplines. The Carnegie Foundation classifies the University of Arkansas among only 2 percent of universities in America that have the highest level of research activity. U.S. News & World Report ranks the University of Arkansas among its top American public research universities. Founded in 1871, the University of Arkansas comprises 10 colleges and schools and maintains a low student-to-faculty ratio that promotes personal attention and close mentoring.


Samuel Beckford, chief executive officer
SurfTec LLC

Matt McGowan, science and research communications officer
University Relations


Physicist Awarded Vannevar Bush Fellowship by Department of Defense

The award, the department's most prestigious given to a single researcher's group, supports fundamental research with the potential to advance national security.

Faculty Member's Short Film Competes for Oxford Film Festival's Artist Vodka Prize

The Oxford Film Festival has gone virtual and the film Animal by Russell Sharman, assistant professor in the Department of Communication, is being featured and premieres today.

Law Alumni Society Announces Inaugural Award Winners

Alex Guynn will receive the Commitment to Justice Award, Nathan Bogart will be given the Early Career Award, and the Career Champion Award will go to the Legal Team at Walmart Inc.

Sarah Judy and J. Laurence Hare Named U of A's Academic Advisors of the Year

Sarah Judy of Walton College and J. Laurence Hare of Fulbright College have been selected by the University of Arkansas Academic Advising Council as 2019-20 outstanding academic advisors. 

BASIS and webBASIS Access Limited Starting Today

Starting at 5 p.m. today, webBASIS will be unavailable and BASIS access will be limited until 8 a.m. Monday, June 1. This planned outage is required to convert BASIS data to the new Workday system. 

News Daily