Faculty Accomplishments Celebrated at Annual Awards Reception

From left: Interim Provost Terry Martin; Anne Doucet, assistant professor of world languages, literatures and cultures; and interim Chancellor Charles Robinson.
Photo Submitted

From left: Interim Provost Terry Martin; Anne Doucet, assistant professor of world languages, literatures and cultures; and interim Chancellor Charles Robinson.

The Wally Cordes Teaching and Faculty Support Center and the U of A Teaching Academy recently co-sponsored the Faculty Teaching Awards Reception for 2021-22. This annual event, held at the Hembree Alumni Center, recognizes faculty who have received university-level teaching awards during the previous academic year. 

The event began with introductory remarks by the TFSC co-director, Lynn Meade, who reminded faculty of a quote by George Washington Carver, who said, "Education is the key that unlocks the golden door to freedom." She said the event was to honor faculty "committed to the high calling of teaching." Teaching Academy President Paul Calleja welcomed faculty. Congratulatory comments were given by interim Chancellor Charles Robinson and Imhoff award winner Lisa Wood gave a speech about teaching.  

Interim Chancellor Robinson, interim Provost Terry Martin, former Chancellor Dan Ferritor, former TFSC Co-Directors Ro Di Brezzo and Paul Cronan were on hand to help pass out the awards and to remind everyone of the legacy of Wally Cordes, who was instrumental in creating a culture that honors teaching at the U of A. In addition, TFSC co-directors Richard Cassady and Carole Shook helped celebrate the award winners.  

Don Johnson, outgoing TFSC co-director, concluded the event by reminding everyone that "teaching matters at the University of Arkansas," and Renette McCargo, interim director of DEI for theSchool of Journalism and Strategic Media, said, "I felt like every speaker was talking to me, and that made me feel special."

The following award recipients were recognized: 

John and Lois Imhoff Award for Outstanding Teaching and Student Mentorship 
Lisa Wood, Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences 

Daniel E. Ferritor Award for Departmental Excellence in Teaching 
Department of Health, Human Performance and Recreation 

Charles and Nadine Baum Faculty Teaching Award 
Susan Gauch, Department of Computer Science and Computer Engineering

Alumni Association Rising Teaching Award 
Hope Ballentine, Eleanor Mann School of Nursing

Outstanding Graduate Mentor and Educator Award 
Ed Bengtson, Department of Curriculum and Instruction

Outstanding Contributions to Service-Learning Teaching Award 
Rogelio Garcia Contreras, Department of Strategy, Entrepreneurship and Venture Innovation

Paul Cronan Technology Teaching Excellence Award 
Stephen Caldwell, Department of Music, and David Fredrick, Department of World Languages, Literatures and Cultures

Ro Di Brezzo Excellence in Service to Teaching Award
Lorraine Brewer, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Recognition for Outgoing Co-Director of the Wally Cordes Teaching and Faculty Support Center 
Don Johnson, Department of Agricultural Education, Communications and Technology

To recognize efforts to improve teaching beyond the student evaluation scores and reward faculty who invest in teaching improvement on campus, the Teaching and Faculty Support Center awards two teaching faculty commendations: the New Faculty Commendation for Teaching Commitment and the Not-So-New Faculty Commendation for Teaching Development.

Commendation Certificates

The faculty listed below received commendation certificates presented by interim Chancellor Robinson and interim Provost Martin.

New Faculty Commendations 

  • Aynur Charkasova, RHRC
  • Morgan Clarke, ACCT 
  • Annie Doucet, WLLC 
  • Eric Fernstrom, CVEG
  • Ringo Jones, COMM 
  • John Morris, COMM 
  • Rachael Moyer, PLSC 
  • Jinoh Park, IDES 
  • Elizabeth Parke, HHPR 
  • Emily Richardson, NURS 
  • Craig Schmitt, HHPR 
  • Amanda Troillet, OTD 
  • Luzita Vela, HHPR 
  • Yu Wang, FINN 
  • Dongyi Wang, BAEG 

Not-So-New Faculty Commendations 

  • Lindsey Aloia, COMM 
  • Margaret Butcher, COMM 
  • Chris Goering, CIED 
  • Nancy Harris Buckley, THES 
  • Shanda Hood, MASC  
  • Jack Kern, HHPR 
  • Jim Maddox, RHRC 
  • Meredith Neville-Shepard, COMM Rocio Paez Ritter, SOCI 
  • Christine Ralston, CIED 
  • Lauren Sabon, SOCI 
  • Carole Shook, ISYS 
  • Leigh Southward, THES

Faculty may work toward one of these commendations during the academic year. Please click on the links below for more information, including eligibility criteria: 

Pictures from the event are available at the Cordes Teaching and Faculty Support Facebook page.


Federal Government Shutdown Avoided, 45-Day Continuing Resolution Passes

The university will continue to monitor the FY24 appropriations process and keep the campus community informed accordingly. 

Kayleb Rae Candrilli, 2023-24 Walton Visiting Writer in Poetry, to Read in Fayetteville

Candrilli will read from their work at 7 p.m. Thursday in the Home Economics Auditorium, room 0102, as the 2023-24 Walton Visiting Writer in Poetry.

Gender Studies Program's Third Annual Bridge Fellows Program

The Bridge Fellows Program is designed to support graduate research on gender issues in any department or college for the spring semester.

Gavin Miller Selected as September's Student Leader of the Month

Gavin Miller, an honors junior from Bryant who is studying public health and biology, has been selected as the Student Leader of the Month for August. 

U of A Health Plans Add RSV Vaccines to Medical Coverage Options

The U of A System Office has announced that eligible U of A employees will soon have access to Respiratory Syncytial Virus Infection vaccines covered with no out-of-pocket expense through United Medical Resources. 

News Daily