Law School Team Competes in 2021 Transactional LawMeet Competition

Top left to right: Hannah Hungate, Julian Sharp, Adam Mote, Andrew Lawson
School of Law

Top left to right: Hannah Hungate, Julian Sharp, Adam Mote, Andrew Lawson

U of A School of Law students Julian Sharp, Hannah Hungate and Adam Mote competed in the 2021 Online Transactional LawMeet hosted by University of Denver Sturm College of Law and University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law on March 26.

The teams negotiated an amendment to a stock purchase agreement to address an IP infringement claim and an FDA drug inquiry. The drafting stage took two months where the students conducted rigorous client interviews and marked up opposing teams' drafts. The U of A team finished runner-up for the buyer's side at the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law meet.

"These competitions require students to work collaboratively with the other side and to have a good grasp of their client's goals as well as the legal issues underlying the transaction," said Andrew Lawson, visiting professor of law and the team's coach. "Our team did a great job on all fronts. It was impressive to see them succinctly explain their client's position, seek collaborative solutions and keep their composure in the face of quite intense negotiations. Transactional LawMeet provides students with an invaluable experience which they carry forward in their legal careers."

Practicing attorneys from law firms and in-house corporate counsels from the greater Denver and Kansas City areas served as judges for the online competition where 24 teams from across the United States participated.

"The Transactional competition was more difficult than I expected, but that's what made it so gratifying," Hungate said. "I loved negotiating with other schools and just working together to create something that our clients would all be really happy with."

"The competition was an incredibly rewarding experience that allowed me to work with and against brilliant law students. I really appreciated having that opportunity," Sharp said.

About the University of Arkansas: As Arkansas' flagship institution, the U of A provides an internationally competitive education in more than 200 academic programs. Founded in 1871, the U of A contributes more than $2.2 billion to Arkansas' economy through the teaching of new knowledge and skills, entrepreneurship and job development, discovery through research and creative activity while also providing training for professional disciplines. The Carnegie Foundation classifies the U of A among the top 3% of U.S. colleges and universities with the highest level of research activity. U.S. News & World Report ranks the U of A among the top public universities in the nation. See how the U of A works to build a better world at Arkansas Research News.


Miranda Stith, communications intern
School of Law

Yusra Sultana, director of communications
School of Law


Chancellor's Commission Recognizes Extraordinary Women and Women's Advocates

Each academic year, the Chancellor's Commission on Women recognizes Extraordinary Women and Women's Advocates from the U of A community. Nine were chosen this year from more than 150 nominations.

Opening Reception for Community Exhibition Happening Tonight

The opening reception for the U of A Museum's community exhibition "Bring Your Own Artifact: Razorback Spirit" will be held at 6 p.m. today, April 12, via Zoom.

Last Chance to Nominate for Staff Senate

The nomination period for Staff Senate candidates ends at 5 p.m. today. Staff members may nominate themselves or any other non-faculty member of their division, or may nominate for an at-large vacancy.

Industrial Engineering Seniors Earn Scholarship From National Honor Society

Seniors Madeline Suellentrop and Jaclyn Walls earned national scholarships from Alpha Pi Mu, the industrial engineering honor society, which provides only five scholarships nationally each year.

Rao Elected President-Elect of Institute for Biological Engineering

Raj Rao, professor and department head of biomedical engineering at the U of A, has been elected president of Institute for Biological Engineering.

News Daily