U of A Students Needed as Mentors for EMPOWER Program

A peer mentor talks with EMPOWER students at lunch in the Arkansas Union
Photo Submitted

A peer mentor talks with EMPOWER students at lunch in the Arkansas Union

The University of Arkansas EMPOWER program is seeking students to serve as peer mentors.

EMPOWER is a post-secondary, non-degree program for individuals with mild intellectual disabilities. The goal of peer mentorship is to create an inclusive learning and socialization environment for all students.

"It's a great opportunity to be a mentor to the students and be there for them as they navigate college," said EMPOWER mentor Kendra Woods-Garmon.

Peer mentors work with EMPOWER students both in class to assist as necessary with note-taking and outside of class with navigating campus life. Mentors and mentees work on social skills, daily living skills such as setting an alarm and checking email and Blackboard, and academic tasks including tutoring.

"Being a residential mentor helps our students with personal growth through independent living and to further enhance the diversity and inclusion on campus," said Director Ashley Bradley.

See a Short Takes video about EMPOWER here.

For more information on becoming an EMPOWER peer mentor, contact Ashley Bradley, director of EMPOWER, at 479-575-5214 or arbradle@uark.edu or Amanda Wallace, volunteer services coordinator, at 479-575-5497 or aw008@uark.edu.


Shannon G. Magsam, director of communications
College of Education and Health Professions
479-575-3138, magsam@uark.edu


Physicist Awarded Vannevar Bush Fellowship by Department of Defense

The award, the department's most prestigious given to a single researcher's group, supports fundamental research with the potential to advance national security.

Faculty Member's Short Film Competes for Oxford Film Festival's Artist Vodka Prize

The Oxford Film Festival has gone virtual and the film Animal by Russell Sharman, assistant professor in the Department of Communication, is being featured and premieres today.

Law Alumni Society Announces Inaugural Award Winners

Alex Guynn will receive the Commitment to Justice Award, Nathan Bogart will be given the Early Career Award, and the Career Champion Award will go to the Legal Team at Walmart Inc.

Sarah Judy and J. Laurence Hare Named U of A's Academic Advisors of the Year

Sarah Judy of Walton College and J. Laurence Hare of Fulbright College have been selected by the University of Arkansas Academic Advising Council as 2019-20 outstanding academic advisors. 

BASIS and webBASIS Access Limited Starting Today

Starting at 5 p.m. today, webBASIS will be unavailable and BASIS access will be limited until 8 a.m. Monday, June 1. This planned outage is required to convert BASIS data to the new Workday system. 

News Daily