Industrial Engineering Faculty, Students Earn Honors at International Conference

Photo Submitted

College of Engineering faculty and students earned more than a dozen awards at the recent annual conference of the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers in Orlando, Florida.

Kim LaScola Needy, industrial engineering professor and dean of the Graduate School and International Education, was the recipient of two awards. The Albert G. Holzman Distinguished Educator Award and the Engineering Economy Division – Wellington Award. The Holzman Distinguished Educator Award recognizes educators who contributed significantly to the profession through teaching, research and publication, extension, innovation, or administration. The Wellington Award recognizes outstanding long-term contributions and service in the field of engineering economy that enhance the visibility of the engineering economy division of IISE. The Wellington Award is limited to individuals that have made significant contributions to the field of engineering economy. The award is named after Arthur M. Wellington, author of The Economic Theory of Railroad Location, in 1887. Learn more here.

Letitia (Tish) Pohl received the Engineering Economy Division Teaching Award. Pohl is the undergraduate advisor for the Industrial Engineering Department. In this role, she advises over 200 students on a regular basis each semester in addition to teaching five courses throughout the academic year. The award is given to recognize and promote the outstanding teaching of Engineering Economy. Pohl has been recognized previously as a Fellow of the University of Arkansas Teaching Academy.

Haitao Liao received the title of Fellow of IISE. The title of Fellow recognizes outstanding leaders of the profession who have made significant, nationally-recognized contributions to industrial and systems engineering. A fellow is the highest classification of IISE membership. The nominee must be a senior member of IISE for a minimum of 10 consecutive years or five continuous years. Candidates must demonstrate outstanding accomplishments in both their professional career and service to industrial and systems engineering. Read more here.

Other awards included:

  • Conner Waybright, A.O. Putman Memorial Scholarship
  • Clay Ferguson, Dwight D. Gardner Scholarship
  • Kevin Haney, Dwight D. Gardner Scholarship
  • Amie Westerman, Dwight D. Gardner Scholarship
  • Yu (Chelsea) Jin, Gilbreth Memorial Scholarship
  • Alexander Hendrickson, Harold & Inge Marcus Scholarship
  • Wesley Nimmo, Harold & Inge Marcus Scholarship
  • Madeline Suellentrop, Henry & Elisabeth Kroeze Memorial Scholarship
  • Olivier Kwizera, John F. Fargher Scholarship

The conference, organized by the Institute of Industrial & Systems Engineers, features research from academia and industry scholars. The conference serves as a forum for exchanging knowledge and discoveries in the industrial and systems engineering research community featuring industry exhibits, workshops and student poster sessions.


Tamara Ellenbecker, website developer
Industrial Engineering

Nick DeMoss, director of communications
College of Engineering


'The House and the City: Two Collages' Exhibition on Display Through Oct. 20 in Vol Walker Hall

The exhibition "The House and the City: Two Collages" will be on display through Oct. 20 in the Fred and Mary Smith Exhibition Gallery in Vol Walker Hall. A reception will be held at 5 p.m. Sept. 19.

Congratulations Employees of the 3rd Quarter

Alex Booth, Terry Garrity, JoAnn Kvamme, Leonard Ridley and David Stowers were named the Employees of the 3rd Quarter for the 2019-20 academic year.

Get Connected at HillFest Today

HillFest, an information fair for students to meet campus departments and registered student organizations, is happening today on the Arkansas Union Mall from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Career Fest 2019, Co-Sponsored by Walmart

The University Career Development Center, in collaboration with Walmart, will host Career Fest from noon to 3 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 4, in the Verizon Ballroom of the Arkansas Union.

Physics Students to Speak About Summer Research Projects

Jack Freeland and Davis Campbell will talk about their research experiences at 4 p.m. Friday, Aug. 30, in Physics Building Room 133.

Newswire Daily