College of Engineering Honors Its Outstanding Alumni

Photo Submitted

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The University of Arkansas College of Engineering honored 16 graduates with College of Engineering Alumni Awards at its annual banquet on Saturday, April 29, at the Hilton Garden Inn in Fayetteville.

The awards recognize alumni of the college who have demonstrated exceptional professional and personal accomplishments and made important contributions to their professions and communities.

“Our alumni are among our college’s biggest strengths, and their accomplishments speak directly to the quality of our academic program,” said John English, dean of the college. “We are proud of all our alumni, and this group shows how talented individuals use engineering education to benefit Arkansas and the world.”

Bob Crafton and Larry Stephens were inducted into the college’s Hall of Fame, which was established in 1965 to recognize prominent graduates and leaders who have made outstanding contributions to the engineering profession and to society as a whole.

Crafton received a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from the U of A in 1957. Originally from Corning, he now resides in Rogers. He is a co-founder of Crafton Tull, a civil engineering, surveying, architecture, landscape architecture, and planning firm with six offices across Arkansas and Oklahoma. Crafton retired in 2000.

Stephens received a bachelor’s degree in industrial engineering in 1958. He co-founded Mid-South Engineering in 1969. Mid-South is a full-service consulting engineering firm with expertise within the wood products industry. Now retired, Stephens has served as vice president, president, chief operating officer and chairman of the board at Mid-South.

The Distinguished Alumni Award honors College of Engineering graduates who have provided leadership in their communities and achieved distinction in their fields of endeavor. The recipients of the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Awards are:

  • L. Patrick Bourne, B.S.E.E. 1968, director of transmission policy, Southwest Power Pool
  • Robert Harrison, B.S.M.E. 1974, vice president and principal engineer, ECCI
  • Pam McGinnis, B.S.I.E. 1990, president, global marketing, Phillips 66
  • Lynn Moore, B.S.C.S.E. 1994, M.S.C.S.E. 1996, chief executive officer, Motio Inc.
  • Michael Shook, B.S.A.G.E. 1982, principal, Agri Process Innovations
  • Michael Wood, B.S.Ch.E. 1984, chief engineer, space launch system program, Boeing
  • L. Carl Yates, B.S.C.E. 1958, chief executive officer, McGoodwin, Williams and Yates

The Early Career Award recognizes exceptional professional and personal achievements of recent College of Engineering graduates. The 2017 recipients are:

  • Andy Davis, B.S.C.E. 1999, M.S.C.E., 2001, owner and president, New Water Systems, LLC
  • Adam Ekenseair, B.S.Ch.E. 2005, assistant professor of chemical engineering, Northeastern University
  • A. Matthew Francis, B.S.E.E. 2003, B.S. 2004, M.S.E.E. 2007, Ph.D. 2009, founder, president and chief executive officer, Ozark Integrated Circuits Inc.
  • Amanda Furr, B.S.I.E. 2003, chief of engineering service, Department of Veterans Affairs, Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System
  • Toni Peacock McCrory, B.S.B.E. 2007, environmental, health and safety compliance senior manager II, Walmart Stores Inc.
  • Jonathan Schisler, B.S.Cmp.E. 2004, M.S.Cmp.E. 2005, senior information systems manager-mobile applications, J.B. Hunt Transport Inc.
  • Matt Zwicker, B.S.M.E. 2003, senior research and development engineer, Airborne Systems

About the College of Engineering: The University of Arkansas College of Engineering is the largest engineering program in the state of Arkansas. Over the past decade, the college has experienced unprecedented growth. Undergraduate enrollment has doubled since 2007, and total enrollment in the college is now over 4,000 students. The College of Engineering offers graduate and undergraduate degrees in nine engineering fields, as well as incorporating distance learning and interdisciplinary programs. Faculty in the college conduct research in many key areas, including electronics, energy, healthcare logistics, nanotechnology, transportation and logistics.

About the University of Arkansas: The University of Arkansas provides an internationally competitive education for undergraduate and graduate students in more than 200 academic programs. The university contributes new knowledge, economic development, basic and applied research, and creative activity while also providing service to academic and professional disciplines. The Carnegie Foundation classifies the University of Arkansas among only 2 percent of universities in America that have the highest level of research activity. U.S. News & World Report ranks the University of Arkansas among its top American public research universities. Founded in 1871, the University of Arkansas comprises 10 colleges and schools and maintains a low student-to-faculty ratio that promotes personal attention and close mentoring.


Camilla Shumaker, director of science and research communications
University Relations


Honors College Selects 22 New Students for Path Program

The Honors College Path Program is a mentoring initiative that supports exceptional students from underrepresented populations.

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry Invests in System to Recycle a Precious Resource, Helium

The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry in the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences recently installed a liquid helium recovery system.

Nominations Open for 2018 Family of the Year

The application for Family of the Year is now open to all U of A students enrolled for fall and who meet co-curricular requirements. Deadline to apply is noon Aug. 27. 

Participants Needed for Study Examining Effect of Diet on Health in Families

The Department of Food Science is recruiting families (defined as at least one parent/guardian) with at least one child between the ages of 6-12 years to participate in a nutrition study.

Summer Camp Teaches Teens With Disabilities to Advocate for Themselves

Summer camp is the first time many of the Arkansas PROMISE project youth participants with disabilities have been away from home or their families and their first exposure to a college campus.

Newswire Daily