Operations Management Program Awards Scholarship to Godoy

Antonella Godoy
Photo Submitted

Antonella Godoy

Antonella Godoy is the latest recipient of the scholarship offered by the Master of Science in Operations Management program. The award is based on academic achievement and financial need.

Godoy moved to Fordyce, Arkansas, and quickly decided to pursue her M.S. in operations management. Starting off in an administrative position, she quickly moved up in the company where she was working and found that operations management was an area she really enjoyed. Family and friends recommended the U of A.

Godoy earned a Bachelor of Science in petroleum engineering from the University of Comahue in Patagonia, Argentina, in 2019. During her undergraduate studies, she received several scholarships, and she is grateful that she was awarded this opportunity to complete her graduate studies, she said.

Godoy has a position waiting for her upon graduation in the Amazon Pathways program. This five-year program is an Operations Leadership Development Program for Worldwide Operations at Amazon. The goal of Pathways is to prepare and develop master's-level graduates in engineering, supply chain, logistics or similar disciplines into Amazon's next general managers and directors. She also states that being bilingual will give her an edge up in this new role since it deals with global operations.

"I decided to focus my elective classes in project management and lean six sigma, trying to balance my engineering background with more management skills that will be needed in this new role. Data analysis was also on the list since I will be handling large amounts of data," she said.

The MSOM Scholarship was first awarded in 2018 and is awarded each fall and spring semester. It is funded by generous donations from alumni, staff and friends.




Karin A. Hickenbotham, marketing and communications
Department of Industrial Engineering
479-575-6031, kahicken@uark.edu

Jennifer P. Cook, director of communications
College of Engineering
479-575-5697, jpc022@uark.edu


#MyPathToSeniorWalk: Lizbeth Hernandez Finds Her Footing

Hernandez, a Nashville, Arkansas, native and accounting major, is a first-generation student who has found her footing at the U of A after earning her associate's degree at Cossatot Community College. 

School of Art Director Candidates to Present to Campus

Three candidates for the position of director of the School of Art in the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences - Jason Guynes, Adam Herring and Rachel Debuque - will hold open forums on March 4, 7 and 11, respectively.

AI Outperforms Humans in Standardized Tests of Creative Potential

GPT-4 scored higher than human participants in three tests designed to measure divergent thinking, an indicator of creative potential. 

Fulbright College's Paul D. Adams to Give Prestigious Lecture at Indiana State University

Adams' lecture will highlight findings from his research at the U of A and is titled "Biophysical and Biochemical Approaches to Characterize Novel Molecular Details That Influence Ras-Related Protein Cell Signaling Function." 

The Office of Innovation for Education to Host Annual Education Innovation Rally

At the 2024 Innovation Rally, individuals, teams and organizations will step beyond conventional boundaries and approaches and embrace a collaborative approach to problem-solving.

News Daily