Founder and CEO of Girls Who Code to Give Distinguished Lecture

Reshma Saujani
Photo Submitted

Reshma Saujani

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Reshma Saujani, Founder and CEO of Girls Who Code, will speak as part of the University of Arkansas Distinguished Lecture Series on Wednesday, Dec. 4, at the Fayetteville Town Center. The event is free and open to the public. Doors will open for students at 6:15 p.m. and for the public at 6:30 p.m., and the lecture will begin at 7 p.m.

Saujani began her career as an attorney and activist. In 2010, she surged onto the political scene as the first Indian-American to run for the United States Congress. Her inspiration to create Girls Who Code was a direct result of her campaign. 

In addition to starting Girls Who Code, Saujani has been an outspoken advocate for education and gender equality in the workplace, especially in tech fields. She wrote Women Who Don't Wait in Line: Break the Mold, Lead the Way (2013), Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World (2017), and Brave, Not Perfect: Fear Less, Fail More, and Live Bolder (2018). In 2016, she presented her message empowerment in her "Teach girls bravery, not perfection" TED Talk. 

Her work on behalf of young women has earned her broad recognition on lists including: FortuneWorld's Greatest Leaders, Fortune 40 Under 40, WSJ Magazine Innovator of the Year, Forbes Most Powerful Women Changing the World and Fast Company 100 Most Creative People, among others. She is the winner of the Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education.

Free shuttles will run to the Town Center from two locations on campus: The Harmon Parking Deck bus stop and the underpass of the Arkansas Union. Shuttles will begin running from campus at 5:30 p.m. and the last shuttle will leave the Town Center at 8:45 p.m.

This event is sponsored by the Distinguished Lectures Committee through the Office of Student Activities and is free to current University of Arkansas students who pay the Student Activities Fee. Students must show ID for entrance. Admission for the general public and non-fee-paying students is contingent upon seating availability and will be on a first-come, first-served basis after fee-paying students are admitted. For questions or for accommodations due to disability, please contact the Office of Student Activities, or call 479-575-5255. 

About Girls Who Code: Girls Who Code is a nonprofit organization, which aims to support and increase the number of women in computer science by equipping young women with the necessary computing skills to pursue degrees and careers that incorporate computer science and engineering skill sets. The organization works toward closing the gender employment difference in technology, and to change the image of what a programmer looks by providing educational materials, intensive summer programs, and alumni networking opportunities. 

About the Division of Student Affairs: The Division of Student Affairs supports students in pursuing knowledge, earning a degree, finding meaningful careers, exploring diversity and connecting with the global community. We provide students housing, dining, health care resources and create innovative programs that educate and inspire. We enhance the University of Arkansas experience and help students succeed, one student at a time.


Mary Skinner, director
Office of Student Activities

Darinda Sharp, director of communications
School of Law


U of A Innovators Unveil Problem-Solving Prototypes at 2019 Demo Day

Eight student teams unveiled their learnings and prototypes as part of the 2019 Demo Day at the McMillon Innovation Studio, with Walmart CEO Doug McMillon in the audience.

Thomas Recognized Among 100 Most Influential Women in Supply Chain

Stephanie Thomas, clinical assistant professor in Walton College, was recently recognized as one of the 100 Most Influential Women in Supply Chain by B2G Consulting.

Congratulations Employees of the 1st Quarter

Staff Senate honored Trisha Blau, Julie Brogan, Gabriel Grider, Mark Larmoyeux and Amanda Sanders as Employees of the 1st Quarter.

Nachtmann Recognized With Top Engineering Management Award

Heather Nachtmann, associate dean for research, professor and director of MarTREC, has received the Bernard Sarchet Award from the American Society for Engineering Management.

Miller Gives Keynote Address at Behavioral Health Conference

Michael T. Miller, professor of higher education, recently delivered the keynote address to the Second International Conference on Behavioral Health in Doha, Qatar.

Newswire Daily