Razorback Marching Band Announces 2019-2020 Drum Majors

The 2019-20 Razorback Marching Band Drum Majors Connor Pocta, Tyler Osterman, Madison Spyres and Katie Craven.
Photo Submitted

The 2019-20 Razorback Marching Band Drum Majors Connor Pocta, Tyler Osterman, Madison Spyres and Katie Craven.

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Band faculty in the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences have selected Katie Craven of Overland Park, Kansas; Tyler Osterman of Webb City, Missouri; Connor Pocta of Fountain Valley, California; and Madison Spyres of Fort Gibson, Oklahoma, as Razorback Marching Band drum majors for the 2019-20 academic year.

Drum major candidates go through a rigorous audition adjudicated by faculty. During the selection process, students are required to teach marching fundamentals, demonstrate the traditional strut, conduct a musical selection, and complete an interview with band faculty. 

"Student leadership is vital to the success of our program," said Benjamin Lorenzo, director of the Razorback Marching Band. "We are looking forward to Katie, Tyler, Connor and Madison adding to the long legacy of talented and dedicated Razorback drum majors."

Each year drum majors are awarded the Preston and Kathryn Woodruff Drum Major Scholarship. These awards were created by Tyler Thompson, a Fulbright College alumnus and former drum major, to honor the Woodruffs for their long and faithful service to the members of the Razorback Band.


Katie Craven is a first-year drum major. She is a senior majoring in music education in the Department of Music and plays the flute.

"I am so incredibly humbled and excited by the opportunity to serve as a drum major for the 2019 season," Craven said. "The RMB has played such a pivotal role in my college experience, and I can't wait to work alongside this phenomenal leadership team to make this season the best one yet!"

Tyler Osterman is a first-year drum major. He is a freshman majoring in music education in the Department of Music and plays the french horn.

"Being selected for this position is an honor that words cannot describe," Osterman said. "The Razorback Marching Band has been a home ever since my time at the university began, and it has already done so much to shape me as a musician, leader and person. I look forward to working with faculty, student leadership, and peers to continue this tradition of excellence."

Connor Pocta is a first-year drum major. He is a senior majoring in mechanical engineering in the College of Engineering and plays the trombone. 

"I am extremely honored and excited to be able to serve the band in such a prestigious position," Pocta said. "This program means so much to me, and it is a dream to be able to lead them through another great season."

Madison Spyres is in her third-year as a drum major and her first year as head drum major. She is majoring in music education in the Department of Music and kinesiology in the College of Education and Health Professions and plays the trumpet.

"I am honored to give back to the Razorback Marching Band as a drum major for one last season," Spyres said. "The organization has given me so much and allowed me to serve others in some of the greatest capacities a college student could ask for. I am so excited to see how much our members grow as individuals and a group over the next season and what the band will accomplish together this year."

About the University of Arkansas Bands: The University of Arkansas Bands Program, part of the Department of Music in the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, began in 1874 and is one of the oldest band programs in the country. The program has seven ensembles including the Razorback Marching BandHogwild Band, and five concert bands with over 400 student members representing every college at the university.


Student Body Elects 2024-25 ASG Executive Council and ASG Senate

Mason Berres, Aleesa Williams, Rhea Patel, Sydney Roulhac, Logan Martin, Adi Kombathula, Kennedy Maloney and Hadley Burke will serve in leadership positions for the 2024-25 Associated Student Government.

ENCLOTHE: En Soiree Fashion Show to Feature Brittany Allen and New AMPD Collection

ENCLOTHE: En Soiree is set for two shows on April 26 at Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art. The evening include also an exhibit curated from a collection donated by Reed Greenwood and Margaret Whillock.

Invitation to GPSC April Policy Dialogue at 5 p.m. Wednesday

The Graduate and Professional Student Congress' next Policy Dialogue will feature a talk with Chancellor Charles Robinson at 5 p.m. Wednesday at Bell Engineering 2269 and via Zoom.

Jake Hertzog's 'Anthropoesia' World Premiere Set for April 16

The newly formed Ozark Jazz Philharmonic will premiere "Anthropoesia: A Concerto for Jazz Guitar and Jazz Philharmonic," which will light up Faulkner Performing Arts Center at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday.

El Otro Cielo by Ana Buitrago: M.F.A. Thesis Exhibition

An M.F.A. thesis exhibition by Ana Buitrago, El Otro Cielo, is currently on display at the Faulkner Performing Arts Center Gallery from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. through April 13.

News Daily