German National Honor Society Inducts New Members

The 2018 inductees of Delta Phi Alpha, with adviser Brett Sterling.
Photo by Kathleen Condray

The 2018 inductees of Delta Phi Alpha, with adviser Brett Sterling.

The University of Arkansas' chapter of Delta Phi Alpha German National Honor Society held its annual induction ceremony on March 14. This year, the university inducted 13 students who have demonstrated excellence in learning the German language, as well as dedication to the further study of German language and culture.

The 2018 Delta Phi Alpha inductees are: Nicholas Broadbent, Dayton Castleman, Esther Heckmann, William Klaviter, Caleb Lowdermilk, Leonides Moreno Miranda, Hunter Nauman, Amos Pierce, Luis Rodriguez, Allison Rucker, Carmen Sitz, Kate Vawter, and Hailey Wilson.

The keynote speech was delivered by Ervin Malakaj, chair of the German program at Sam Houston State University in Huntsville, Texas. In his address titled "Audre Lorde's Germany," Malakaj spoke about the role played by African-American poet and theorist Audre Lorde in catalyzing the movement for black identity in 1980s Berlin. Malakaj's fascinating talk on a largely overlooked aspect of transatlantic history was sponsored by the Department of World Languages, Literatures and Cultures, the African and African-American Studies program, the Gender Studies program, the International Studies program, the Honors College, and the Center for Multicultural and Diversity Education.

Delta Phi Alpha is an esteemed organization that provides networking and scholarship opportunities to students interested in German, while pursuing a larger mission to emphasize those aspects of German life and culture which are of universal value and which contribute to humanity's eternal search for peace and truth.


Brett Sterling, associate professor of German
World Languages, Literatures and Culture


U of A Bands to Hold Three Nights of Concerts

The Symphonic Band, the Wind Symphony, the 4 O'Clock and 5 O'Clock Bands and the Wind Ensemble will perform April 21-23 at the Faulkner Performing Arts Center on the U of A campus.

Honors College to Host 'Best in Show' Dog Celebration

The campus and community are invited to celebrate our furry friends with popsicles, water and dog treats from 3-4 p.m. Thursday, April 25, in the Gearhart Courtyard.

New Parasite Affecting Canadian Partridges Named for Arkansas Poultry Scientist

A long-time colleague in Canada gave a newly found parasite the scientific name Eimeria hargisi in honor of U of A poultry science researcher Billy Hargis.

U of A School of Law Student Selected for Ms. J.D. Leadership Academy Intensive

Tristan Branstetter-Thomas, a second-year law student, was one of 30 students from across the country chosen to participate in the leadership academy at the Northwestern Pritzker School of Law in Chicago.

Needy Honored as Distinguished Alumna of University of Pittsburgh Engineering College

College of Engineering Dean Kim Needy was among seven alumni of the University of Pittsburgh Swanson School of Engineering honored in April as part of the 2024 Class of Distinguished Alumni.

News Daily