U of A Joins Statewide Effort to Establish World War I Memorials

Photo Submitted

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The University of Arkansas will make a place in the Campus Arboretum near Old Main and Gearhart Hall for a World War I Memorial Tree. The two-year old willow oak will be planted at 10 a.m. Friday, Nov. 17 on the lawn east of Gearhart Hall. The ROTC Color Guard and a member of the Arkansas Forestry Commission will participate in the ceremony. Everyone is invited to attend.

The Arkansas World War I Centennial Commemoration Committee, in collaboration with the Arkansas Forestry Commission, is planting a WWI memorial tree in each of Arkansas’s 75 counties before the centennial observance of the war concludes at the end of 2018.

Peter MacKeith, dean of the Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design, is a member of the committee. The U of A has been chosen as the recipient of the memorial tree for Washington County.

"Through the organizational effort of the Arkansas World War 1 Commemoration Commission, and the generosity of the Arkansas Forestry Association, we're able to plant this tree in the Old Main Arboretum in honor of those Arkansas citizens, and in particular those citizens of Washington County and the University, who gave their service to the nation in the First World War - in many cases, giving their lives to the cause of world peace,” MacKeith said.

“This is additionally meaningful to the Fay Jones School, as our 2013 alumnus Joe Weishaar is currently designing the national World War I memorial in Washington DC, and as the plaque honoring those University students who gave their lives in service can be found in our building, Vol Walker Hall."

A total of 71,862 Arkansans served during World War I and 2,183 died while in service.




Steve Voorhies, manager of media relations
University Relations
479-575-3583, voorhies@uark.edu


Plant Disease Diagnostic Booth at the Farmers Market

Learn about plant pathology and submit your diseased plant samples for diagnosis at our bi-weekly summer booth.

Leeds Takes Permanent Role as Vice Chancellor for Economic Development

The former School of Law dean will focus on the University of Arkansas’ economic and social impact on the state and beyond.

Bumpers College Students Dahlem, Grubbs Earn Miss Arkansas Scholarships

In addition to Darynne Dahlem and Reagan Grubbs, five more U of A students also won scholarships and awards at the 2018 Miss Arkansas Scholarship Pageant.

U of A Graduate Named to Arkansas Board of Education

Gov. Asa Hutchinson named Sarah Moore of Stuttgart to the Arkansas Board of Education, his office announced last week. She earned a doctorate in education policy in 2015.

Fulbright College Faculty Members Honored at 2018 Retirement Reception

After more than 92 years of combined service, three faculty members in Fulbright College recently retired and were honored following the successful completion of their final academic year.

Newswire Daily