Henry Woods Leadership Award Winners to Be Honored This Friday

Two graduating seniors have been chosen for the Henry Woods Leadership Award and will be honored in a ceremony this Friday.

The leadership award is named for Henry Woods, former University of Arkansas student who was heavily involved in campus activities and made a significant impact during his time at the University.

Hilary Zedlitz and Tanner Bone have been campus leaders throughout their undergraduate career at the University of Arkansas. They will receive the award at 1:30 p.m. Friday, May 6 outside of the Associated Student Government offices on the 6th floor of the Arkansas Union.

Hilary Zedlitz, a political science and Middle Eastern studies major in the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, was a Truman Scholarship finalist in 2015; a resident assistant in University Housing; and a Friday Night Live student coordinator, among many other things.

Zedlitz said she found many places and people on campus, some intentionally and some by accident, which helped her excel.

"I simply found people who challenged me to grow and think critically about my role in the world. The longer I was on campus, the more these communities naturally grew and expanded to include others," Zedlitz said. "Whatever 'place' I was in, I made sure that it felt right, meaning I would receive as much from being there as others would receive from me."

Zedlitz advice for incoming students is to get involved, which is advice she received from a mentor.

"My R.O.C.K. camp mentor's advice to me as a freshman was to find ways to get involved and take an active role in my education in and out of the classroom," Zedlitz said. "This might mean striking up conversations with their professors or working in an office on campus. It might be joining or forming an RSO, or volunteering on campus and in the community. Whatever their involvement might be, I advise incoming students to use these opportunities to better learn about themselves and what their passions are so that when they do graduate, they know how they can uniquely contribute to their community and the world."

Tanner Bone is an international business major in the Sam. M. Walton College of Business. He served as president of Associated Student Government this year and was also picked to serve on Chancellor Joe Steinmetz' transition committee.

Bone said getting involved with things early, staying true to himself, and working with great people have been keys to his success at the University of Arkansas.

"I got involved early in things that interested me, and that expanded my network allowing me to get involved in a variety of other organizations," Bone said. "My leadership philosophy has always been to always be genuine and to surround myself with good people. I have always tried to stay true to myself, to always be the same person no matter who I am around or where I am. The largest reason for my success on campus is the people who have surrounded me. From mentors to peers, I have been challenged by other leaders who have taught me so much, and have allowed me to serve as a student-leader throughout my time here."

Bone offers sound advice for new students.

"For incoming students, the best advice I can give is to take advantage of all the U of A has to offer by getting involved," Bone said. "Whether it is a campus or community group, getting involved early allows you to meet new people, challenges you to think for yourself, and ultimately makes a large place a little bit smaller."

The Division of Student Affairs has been making this award for several years, which was established by some of Woods' friends and family.

Skip Rutherford, dean of the University of Arkansas Clinton School of Public Service, is a 1972 journalism graduate from the University of Arkansas, and was friends with Woods. He helped establish this award in Woods' name.

"Along with others, we shared a great interest in politics and public service. During his years in Washington, Henry was a master at constituent service and outreach," Rutherford said. "His legacy proudly lives on through the Henry Woods award. The recipients have done, are doing and will do great things with their lives — just like Henry did."

Henry Woods was involved in numerous student organizations and edited the Razorback yearbook during his undergraduate career. Following graduation in 1973 from the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, Woods worked in Washington, D.C., on the staffs of Congressman Bill Alexander, and Senators David Pryor, Dale Bumpers and Blanche Lincoln. Woods strived to advocate and improve the quality of life for Arkansans during his 25 years of civic service at our nation's capital.


Scott Flanagin, executive director of communications
Student Affairs
479-575-6785, sflanagi@uark.edu

Steve Voorhies, manager of media relations
University Relations
479-575-3583, voorhies@uark.edu


Kayleb Rae Candrilli, 2023-24 Walton Visiting Writer in Poetry, to Read in Fayetteville

Candrilli will read from their work at 7 p.m. Thursday in the Home Economics Auditorium, room 0102, as the 2023-24 Walton Visiting Writer in Poetry.

Gender Studies Program's Third Annual Bridge Fellows Program

The Bridge Fellows Program is designed to support graduate research on gender issues in any department or college for the spring semester.

Gavin Miller Selected as September's Student Leader of the Month

Gavin Miller, an honors junior from Bryant who is studying public health and biology, has been selected as the Student Leader of the Month for August. 

U of A Health Plans Add RSV Vaccines to Medical Coverage Options

The U of A System Office has announced that eligible U of A employees will soon have access to Respiratory Syncytial Virus Infection vaccines covered with no out-of-pocket expense through United Medical Resources. 

Linking Belonging to a Transformational Workforce

The lecture and networking sessions are for senior leaders and human resource partners to engage with Dr. Charles Barber on the importance of linking belonging and leveraging diversity, equity, inclusion and belonging in a transformative workforce.

News Daily