Biological Sciences Instructor, School of Social Work Receive Diversity Awards

Biological Sciences Instructor, School of Social Work Receive Diversity Awards
Photo Submitted

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Adnan Ali Khalaf Al-Rubaye, instructor of biological sciences and associate director of the cell and molecular biology graduate program, has been selected as the 2013-14 winner of the University of Arkansas’ Individual Diversity Award and the members of the School of Social Work team were selected as the winners of the Team Diversity Award.

“Valuing differences in experience and points of view is important for a college named after someone who spent his life promoting cultural exchange,” said Todd Shields, dean of the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences. “It’s gratifying to see the School of Social Work and Dr. Al-Rubaye recognized for their commitment to diversity.”

Al-Rubaye’s leadership efforts in facilitating the lab science component of the iBridge program contributed to his selection. The iBridge program is a pre-college transitional program that previews what can be expected in the first year of college and helps students develop the skills necessary to assure their academic and personal success at the U of A and beyond. The program is offered by Diversity Affairs through the College Access Initiative and the Center for Multicultural and Diversity Education.

“It is an honor and pleasure to receive the University of Arkansas’ Diversity Award for 2013-14,” Al-Rubaye said. “The University of Arkansas has taken serious steps toward promoting diversity on our campus. The Multicultural Center, Department of Biological Sciences and the cell and molecular biology program have been strong advocates for promoting diversity. I am fortunate to be part of these groups, and I look forward to helping place and educate more students on our campus.”

The School of Social Work team demonstrated exceptional examples of supporting diversity through the school’s commitment to students on campus and for the many diverse programs it has created to support and generate awareness among students.

“The School of Social Work is honored to receive the 2013-14 Diversity Team Award from the University of Arkansas,” said Marica Shobe, director of the School of Social Work. “Social work faculty, staff and students are actively engaged in collaborative university- and community-based activities with the intent to honor and celebrate diversity. It is the school’s position that to truly create a rich and diverse learning context requires the engagement of a wide number of constituencies at multiple levels including the School of Social Work, colleges and schools within the university, as well as organizations and populations in the larger Northwest Arkansas community. We appreciate the opportunity to highlight our efforts in helping create and maintain a diverse and meaningful learning environment.”

Members of the School of Social Work team include:

  • Glenda Blake
  • Scott Burcham
  • Kameri Christy
  • Michael Collie
  • Sara Collie
  • Alishia Ferguson
  • Ashely Givens
  • Amber Green
  • Glenda House
  • Debra Hurd
  • Ashley Kasinger
  • Eun Koh
  • Yvette Murphey-Erby
  • Anna Piazza
  • Joe Schriver
  • Marcia Shobe
  • Kim Strauss
  • Valandra

The Diversity Awards Program is coordinated annually by the Employee Development Program to reward and recognize individuals and teams exhibiting outstanding commitment to diversity. Nominations and an independent judging committee are used to determine the winners. More information about the program can be found online:


Aria Andrus, instructional designer
Human Resources


Focusing on the Future of Supply Chain, Walton College Renames Supply Chain Department

The supply chain department in the Sam M. Walton College of Business has been renamed the J.B. Hunt Transport Department of Supply Chain Management.

New Poultry Science Faculty Member Focuses on Intestinal Health Research

Research by Danielle Graham, an assistant professor of poultry science, will be used to identify methods to prevent disease and improve poultry intestinal health and welfare.

Razorback Stadium to Welcome Students and Families

Razorback Athletics welcomes students and families for the 2022-23 academic year by opening the plaza area of Reynolds Razorback Stadium from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. through Saturday.

Twelve Razorback Gymnasts Named WCGA Scholar All-Americans

Elswick, Gamiao, Gianfagna, Hambrick, Johnston, Lovett, O'Hara, Olszewski, Pennese, Rogers, Scalzo and Smith have been named to the Women's Collegiate Gymnastics Association Scholar All-Americans.

Stacy Crotser to Retire Aug. 15

IT Services will have a retirement celebration at 1 p.m. Monday in ADSB 240 to honor her 26 years of service and dedication to improving the university.

News Daily