600 Performers, Directors, Composers Expected for College Band Directors Conference

Anthony Barfield and David Biedenbender
Photo Submitted

Anthony Barfield and David Biedenbender

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The University of Arkansas Bands will host the Southwestern Division conference of the College Band Directors National Association March 19-22. The event will include nine concerts, more than a dozen research sessions and three question-and-answer sessions with guest composers. More than 100 band directors and 500 performers from several states including Arkansas, Missouri, Kansas, Colorado, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas are expected to attend.

“A major part of the mission of the University of Arkansas Bands program is to serve as a resource for university and public school instrumental music programs,” said Chris Knighten, director of university bands. “The opportunity to host this conference, with more than twenty outstanding concerts and research sessions in a four-day period, gives us an opportunity to provide such outreach. It also gives us an opportunity to showcase the musicianship and artistry of our own students.”

Noted composers in attendance will include Anthony Barfield, David Biedenbender, Steven Bryant, Ryan Chase, James David, Eric Honour, Michael Markowski, David Maslanka, Daniel Tacke and Pulitzer Prize-winner Michael Colgrass.

As the host institution, the University of Arkansas will present the conference’s keynote concert at 7:30 p.m. Friday, March 21, in the Walton Arts Center. The University of Arkansas Wind Ensemble, under the direction of Knighten, will perform Collaborations, which will feature department of music faculty members including assistant professor of trombone Cory Mixdorf, senior wind band conductor and professor of music W. Dale Warren, University Professor of percussion Chal Ragsdale and instructor of music Matthew Mihalka. Composers Barfield and Biedenbender will also conduct a two-day residency with students, which will culminate in the performance of their respective pieces. 

The program is as follows:

  • Festfanfare, Alfred Uhl
  • La création du monde, Darius Milhaud
  • Red Sky, Anthony Barfield. Cory Mixdorf, trombone
  • The Three Embraces, Carter Pann
  • Tunbridge Fair, Walter Piston. W. Dale Warren, conductor
  • "The Beaches of Lukannon," from the Jungle Book Cycle, Percy Grainger, arr. by Chal Ragsdale
  • Stomp, David Biedenbender

The conference will also host the Southwestern Division's first Intercollegiate Honor Band, comprised of 75 students from seven states. The Intercollegiate Band will be conducted by Michael Haithcock, director of bands and the Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Conducting at the University of Michigan. The band will rehearse Thursday-Saturday in Janzen Hall in the Lewis E. Epley Jr. Band Hall.

The conference will include performances by many collegiate concert bands including the Abilene Christian University Wind Ensemble, Arkansas State University Wind Ensemble, Arkansas Tech University Symphonic Wind Ensemble, Texas Christian University Symphonic Band, Texas State University Wind Ensemble, Truman State University Wind Ensemble and University of Central Missouri Wind Ensemble.

Tickets for the concerts, including the University of Arkansas Wind Ensemble’s Friday performance, are $1 for students with valid University of Arkansas identification and $5 for the general public and will be available at the door.

A full schedule of conference events and concerts is available at the University of Arkansas Bands website.  


Robert Hopper, associate director of operations
University of Arkansas Bands
479-575-4100, rghoppe@uark.edu

Darinda Sharp, director of communications
J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences
479-575-3712, dsharp@uark.edu


Professor Receives USDA-NIFA Grant to Address Need for Human Nutritionists

Job opportunities for nutritionists and dietitians are expected to increase 11% by 2030, but the lack of diversity has limited equitable care for some populations.

Gigantino, Zajicek Named Vice Provosts for Academic Affairs, Faculty Affairs

Provost Terry Martin named Jim Gigantino as vice provost for academic affairs and Anna Zajicek as vice provost for faculty affairs effective Feb. 1. Both have served in interim roles since Summer 2022.

Researchers Receive $1 Million Grant to Develop Robotic System to Assist Poultry Processing

Dongyi Wang, assistant professor of biological and agricultural engineering, and fellow researchers will focus on where automation can help the agricultural and food industries.

U of A Small Business Center Helps Northwest Arkansas Businesses Thrive in 2022

The Arkansas Small Business and Technology Development Center at the U of A wrapped up 2022 with a banner year of new clients, new business starts and capital acquisition.

Registration Open for ESL Symposium Focused on Serving Multilingual Learners

The 15th annual U of A English as a Second Language symposium will focus on partnering to serve multilingual learners in classrooms, schools and communities.

News Daily