Students Celebrated at Fifth Annual Teacher Induction Convocation

Students recite the Razorback Teacher Creed.
Maggie Green

Students recite the Razorback Teacher Creed.

The U of A recently held its fifth annual Teacher Induction Convocation, honoring 236 students across three colleges who have committed to the profession.

Students from 13 teacher education programs across three U of A colleges were represented at the celebration, held at the Don Tyson Center for Agricultural Sciences in Fayetteville. Each teacher candidate was announced and greeted by faculty members at the end of their "walk of recognition." Twenty-one faculty presented pins to the newly admitted teacher candidates. The U of A Office of Teacher Education provided the pins, which read, "Knowledgeable, Skillful, Caring, Professional."

"These words help frame the mission of educator preparation at the university. The U of A is committed to our state initiatives in preparing and supporting teachers in the state of Arkansas," said Jennifer Beasley, director of the Office of Teacher Education. "The pins serve as a remembrance of this milestone, which we hope they will proudly wear as they continue through the program."

Beasley said of the ceremony, "It acknowledges that teaching is a very special profession made up of men and women dedicated to the future of the young people they teach," she said. "It also witnesses that selecting teaching as a career is a calling, a decision to dedicate one's self to the future of others. It also confirms that it is through high-quality education we can foster lifelong learners."

Both undergraduates and master's degree students were honored at the induction ceremony.

The keynote speaker was Katy Moore, a graduate of the College of Education and Health Professions' secondary education Master of Arts in Teaching program. U of A program faculty nominated her based on her outstanding achievements.

Moore, who is in her 13th year of teaching, is an Advanced Placement language and composition teacher at Bentonville West High School. She has received various accolades, including the Extra Mile Award, for her work with students. In 2015 and 2021, she was named Teacher of the Year in Bentonville.

Moore, an Arkansas Teach Plus Policy Fellow, told the auditorium full of students, parents, friends, school partners and faculty that her proudest accomplishment as a teacher is this: "Seeing the people I taught become amazing adults I am honored to know."


Shannon G. Magsam, director of communications
College of Education and Health Professions


History Professor Wins National Book Prize

Brian McGowan, an assistant professor of history, and his collaborator won the North American Society for Sports History Best Anthology Award for their collection Sport and Protest in the Black Atlantic.

Fulbright College Expands Development Team With New Key Leadership

Becca Bradley and Autumn Spicher, both two-time U of A alumnae, have been appointed to lead Fulbright College’s fundraising efforts, effective June 17.

Arkansas A+ Offering PD Workshops at Co-Ops Throughout Arkansas This Summer

Arkansas A+, an arts integration program in the College of Education and Health Professions, is offering 23 workshops at education service cooperatives across Arkansas in June and July.

Microsoft Wi-Fi Vulnerability Requires Urgent Upgrade for Windows Users

Microsoft recently announced a Wi-Fi vulnerability in Windows systems that allows unauthorized users to remotely access a targeted device. It is essential that users upgrade to a supported version of Windows.  

U of A Alumnus Participates in Japan-America Joint Vocational Training Program on All Returns Market

Alumnus Neal Jansen, director of the Arkansas Economic Development Commission's Asia Office, will speak today at the All Returns Market joint vocational training about potential U.S.-Japan economic collaboration.

News Daily