Biological Engineering Colloquium Seminar to Feature Subbiah

Jeyamkondan Subbiah
Photo Submitted

Jeyamkondan Subbiah

The Department of Biological Engineering will host a presentation from Jeyamkondan Subbiah, professor and department head of the Department of Food Science Friday, Oct. 18.

Subbiah will discuss ways to improve the safety of low-moisture foods like nuts, spreads, spices and ingredients.

The seminar will take place from 10:45-11:45 a.m. in room 219 of John A. White Jr. Engineering Hall.

The presentation is free and open to the public.

The abstract:

Process validation of microbial intervention technologies for improving safety of low moisture foods.

The reputation of low-moisture foods (LMF) as safe foods has been crumbling over the past decade due to the repeated involvement of LMF in foodborne illness outbreaks all over the U.S., be it as nuts, spreads, spices, and ingredients. Unfortunately, traditional heat pasteurization processes are not sufficient: most pathogens, including salmonella, show increased heat tolerance in dry environments. New food safety regulations such as Food Safety Modernization Act requires processors to validate all intervention processing technologies. This presentation will describe validation of a novel processing technology (radio-frequency processing) and a legacy processing technology (extrusion) as lethality step for improving safety of low-moisture foods.



Leslie Reinhart, administrative specialist III
Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Nick DeMoss, director of communications
College of Engineering


Physicist Awarded Vannevar Bush Fellowship by Department of Defense

The award, the department's most prestigious given to a single researcher's group, supports fundamental research with the potential to advance national security.

Faculty Member's Short Film Competes for Oxford Film Festival's Artist Vodka Prize

The Oxford Film Festival has gone virtual and the film Animal by Russell Sharman, assistant professor in the Department of Communication, is being featured and premieres today.

Law Alumni Society Announces Inaugural Award Winners

Alex Guynn will receive the Commitment to Justice Award, Nathan Bogart will be given the Early Career Award, and the Career Champion Award will go to the Legal Team at Walmart Inc.

Sarah Judy and J. Laurence Hare Named U of A's Academic Advisors of the Year

Sarah Judy of Walton College and J. Laurence Hare of Fulbright College have been selected by the University of Arkansas Academic Advising Council as 2019-20 outstanding academic advisors. 

BASIS and webBASIS Access Limited Starting Today

Starting at 5 p.m. today, webBASIS will be unavailable and BASIS access will be limited until 8 a.m. Monday, June 1. This planned outage is required to convert BASIS data to the new Workday system. 

News Daily