Civil Engineering Faculty Member to Lead State Licensure Board

Photo Submitted

A civil engineering faculty member has been elected president of the state governing body for engineers and surveyors.

Rod Williams, university professor of civil engineering, has been elected to serve as president of the Arkansas State Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors after previously serving as vice president of the board.

"I am honored and pleased to have been elected to serve as the board's president this year," Williams said. "We are embarking on a challenging period with challenges relating to the state of Arkansas' efforts to restructure the Governor's Cabinet, streamline governmental processes, re-vamp occupational licensing requirements and embrace the red-tape reduction movement.

"We are continuing in our efforts to make the licensing and license renewal process as efficient and painless as possible and endeavor to keep our constituents 'in the know' about regulatory changes at the local, state, and national level," he said.

For more information on the Arkansas State Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors, visit the Arkansas PE PS Licensure Board website.


Mike Emery, media specialist
Department of Civil Engineering

Nick DeMoss, director of communications
College of Engineering


Physicist Awarded Vannevar Bush Fellowship by Department of Defense

The award, the department's most prestigious given to a single researcher's group, supports fundamental research with the potential to advance national security.

Faculty Member's Short Film Competes for Oxford Film Festival's Artist Vodka Prize

The Oxford Film Festival has gone virtual and the film Animal by Russell Sharman, assistant professor in the Department of Communication, is being featured and premieres today.

Law Alumni Society Announces Inaugural Award Winners

Alex Guynn will receive the Commitment to Justice Award, Nathan Bogart will be given the Early Career Award, and the Career Champion Award will go to the Legal Team at Walmart Inc.

Sarah Judy and J. Laurence Hare Named U of A's Academic Advisors of the Year

Sarah Judy of Walton College and J. Laurence Hare of Fulbright College have been selected by the University of Arkansas Academic Advising Council as 2019-20 outstanding academic advisors. 

BASIS and webBASIS Access Limited Starting Today

Starting at 5 p.m. today, webBASIS will be unavailable and BASIS access will be limited until 8 a.m. Monday, June 1. This planned outage is required to convert BASIS data to the new Workday system. 

News Daily