Call for Nominations of New Teaching Academy Fellows, Fall 2019

Nominations for Teaching Academy Academy Fellows are now open for the fall 2019 period.

  1. Nominations must be made by a Teaching Academy Fellow or by the dean of an academic college or school. Nominees are colleagues who have distinguished themselves with demonstrated excellence in teaching/education as noted by significant college, institutional, disciplinary, state, or national teaching awards.
  2. The Teaching Academy can select up to eight faculty for membership per year. Faculty receiving the Baum Teaching Award or the Dr. John and Mrs. Lois Imhoff Award for Outstanding Teaching and Student Mentorship are automatically considered as nominees (if not already Teaching Academy Fellows).
  3. Nomination process: The nomination must be initiated by a Teaching Academy member or by an academic dean. The application is relatively short and should include:
    1. A nominating letter from a Teaching Academy member or academic dean highlighting the teaching accomplishments of the nominee, including any institutional (college or university) and professional teaching awards.
    2. A letter of support from a supervisor (department/unit/program chair or director) or a knowledgeable peer.
    3. A list of classes taught with evaluations from the past three years. Note: Because teaching evaluations are considered private and confidential, the nominator must ask permission of the potential nominee to use them. The nominator is urged to indicate only that he/she is nominating the potential nominee for a teaching award and keep the nature of the nomination confidential, as is the Teaching Academy tradition.
    4. Any other material, which can support the candidate, such as a teaching or activity portfolio, may be included.  The entire nomination packet (including letters and any supporting materials) is limited to a maximum of six pages. 

Send all nominations to Mary Savin, chair of the nominating committee, at the campus address or email below. Personal delivery (rather than campus mail) is strongly encouraged.

Mary Savin
Department of Crop, Soil, and Environmental Sciences
Office location: 105B Agriculture (AGRI) Building
Campus mail: 115 Plant Science (PTSC) Building
Email as one .pdf file to [Include "2019 Fellow Nominee" in the subject line].

The due date for nominations is 5 p.m. Monday, Oct. 28.

Please email Mary Savin, Nominating Committee chair, at and let her know if you are planning to nominate a new Teaching Academy Fellow.

Nominees will be voted on at the Nov. 13 meeting of the Teaching Academy.




Lori Libbert, special events manager
Teaching and Faculty Support Center and UA Teaching Academy


U of A Honors College Announces 2020 Bodenhamer Fellows

Six incoming students have been named Bodenhamer Fellows, earning $72,000 each in fellowships for education, research and study abroad.

Pat Walker Health Center: Support Available in Wake of Race-Related Violence

Counseling & Psychological Services is available if you need support. Mental health services are available 24/7 by phone at 479-575-5276.

Biomedical Engineering Students Honored with Virtual Commencement

Biomedical engineering faculty, staff, students and families gathered virtually May 14 to celebrate the outstanding achievements of the department's graduating seniors.

Garrison Moves From HESC Director to Full-Time Teaching and Research; Graham Interim Director

Betsy Garrison is stepping down as director of the School of Human Environmental Sciences after six years. Donna Graham will serve as interim director of the program.

Incoming Freshman Service Program in August

The Volunteer Action Center invite incoming freshman women to sign up for Lean In, a program designed to educate, encourage and empower freshman through community service Aug. 17-23.

News Daily