Alicia Minden from AEAB Recognized for 35 Years of Service

From left to right, Luke Parsch, Alicia Minden, and Bruce Dixon
Photo Submitted

From left to right, Luke Parsch, Alicia Minden, and Bruce Dixon

Alicia Minden was recognized for her 35 years of service to the campus as a hardworking, devoted and conscientious secretary in the Department of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness. For over 35 years, as demands for services and technology changed, Minden learned new skills and shared that knowledge with others in the department.

Additionally, she has been the secretary for the Graduate Programs Committee for a very long time. Her knowledge of the Graduate School regulations and requirements is encyclopedic. Minden has been quite diligent in keeping up with changes in Graduate School procedures and keeps the department ahead of the curve in these areas. When faculty members are confronted with a vexing question about how to handle various graduate student problems, they turn to Minden for advice.

Minden has served under a variety of chairs to the Graduate Programs Committee and has educated them in the nuances of conducting the affairs of the committee. She has also shepherded countless graduate students through the intricacies of getting the format of a thesis correct and following Graduate School procedures to complete their degrees. Her memory of former students is excellent and is most helpful when wanting to contact or identify past graduate students. 

Most importantly, Minden is dedicated to doing things correctly and is demanding of herself to get things right. She takes pride in the department and has given 35 years of much appreciated and professional service toward making the Department of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness as good as it can be.


Ryan P. Ruiz, communications manager
Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness


Emergency Training Exercise Scheduled on Campus Monday, Nov. 19

The exercise will be held in the Garland Avenue Parking Garage from 9 a.m. to noon, with UAPD and NWA emergency responders taking part.

Graduate Students Compete for Three Minute Thesis Crown Today

Graduate students will battle to win the U of A Three Minute Thesis competition starting at 2:30 p.m. today, Nov. 19, in Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences Building Room 107E.

Longtime Mechanical Engineering Faculty Member Announces Retirement

After almost 54 years of service, professor Ing-Chang Jong of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, is retiring at the end of the year. The department will host a reception Dec. 7.

Celebrating Panama's Month, 115 Years of Uniqueness, on Nov. 27

The Panamanian Student Organization invites all students to celebrate 'Panama's Month' from 5-7 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 27, in the Arkansas Union International Connections Lounge.

University of Arkansas Observes Transgender Day of Remembrance Today

The Transgender Day of Remembrance is a day to commemorate the lives of transgender people whose lives were lost due to anti-transgender violence. Events include a candlelight vigil at 5 p.m.

Newswire Daily