Biggadike Innovation Grant Workshop Empowers Engineering Educators

Biggadike Innovation Grant Workshop Empowers Engineering Educators
Photo Submitted

The College of Engineering hosted its inaugural Biggadike Innovation Grant Teaching Assistant Workshop on Aug. 9 and 10 to prepare graduate students and instructors for the academic year and enhance the quality of education within the college.

Developed and hosted by Department of Civil Engineering associate professors Sarah Hernandez and Cameron Murray, the two-day workshop attracted 37 participants for invaluable insights, tools and strategies. As the college gears up for the academic year, the workshop served as an important avenue to ensure teaching assistants are prepared to excel in their roles.

Faculty and staff leaders engaged participants in a series of interactive sessions designed to cover a diverse range of topics. The workshops delved into essential areas including roles and responsibilities, active learning methods, effective use of board notes, holding productive office hours, harnessing the power of online Blackboard tools, mastering the art of grading, and ensuring classroom and lab safety. 

Sessions were led by faculty and staff from across the College of Engineering: Andrew Braham (civil), Kevin Hall (civil), Sarah Hernandez (civil), Tammy Lutz-Rechtin (chemical), Anna Phillips and Abi Moser (UARK Blackboard), Eric Specking (industrial) and Heather Walker (chemical). 

The program culminated with participants delivering microteaching demonstrations facilitated by faculty mentors Eric Fernstrom (civil), Lekshmi Sasidharan (civil), Kelly Sullivan (industrial), Tish Pohl (industrial), Clint Wood (civil) and Wen Zhang (civil). 

At the close of the workshop, participants who successfully completed the training received certificates recognizing their commitment to enhancing their teaching skills.

The success of the inaugural Biggadike Innovation Grant Teaching Assistant Workshop ushers in a new era of teaching excellence for the College of Engineering. By equipping teaching assistants with tools they need to succeed, the college is investing in students' academic success and contributing to the broader advancement of engineering education.

The Biggadike Innovation Grants are made possible by a generous donation of the late Robert H. Biggadike, a 1958 graduate in mechanical engineering. The Biggadike endowment supports innovative programs within the college.

List of Participants

  • Olabode Akindolani - Chemical Engineering
  • Tijesunimi  Akintunde - Mechanical Engineering
  • Mads Ancker - Biomedical Engineering
  • Mohammad Tahir Ansari - Civil Engineering
  • Alexis Applequist - Biomedical Engineering
  • Kasey Baker - Mechanical Engineering
  • Sanjeev Bhurtyal - Civil Engineering
  • Jackson Black - Chemical Engineering
  • Abbey Bryan - Biomedical Engineering
  • Benjamin Butter - Biomedical Engineering
  • Simon Chaisouang - Data Science
  • Lance Cordes - Biomedical Engineering
  • Saubana Dada - Chemical Engineering
  • Ben Davis - Civil Engineering
  • Chandler Dye - Mechanical Engineering
  • Damilola Fadipe - Chemical Engineering
  • Xiaolei Hao - Biomedical Engineering
  • Kabiraj Khatiwada - Biological and Agricultural Engineering
  • Julia Loshelder - Civil Engineering
  • Riasad Bin Mahbub - Biological and Agricultural Engineering
  • Umme Marium Mim - Biomedical Engineering
  • Katherine A. Miranda ­-  Biomedical Engineering
  • Breyonna Morgan - Chemical Engineering
  • Oladipupo Ogolo -  Chemical Engineering
  • Toluwanimi Ogundipe - Civil Engineering
  • Damilola Oni -  Data Science
  • Subhadipto Poddar - Civil Engineering
  • Anik Roy - Civil Engineering
  • Braden Stevens - Mechanical Engineering
  • Tanner Turben - Civil Engineering
  • Eric Walker - Chemical Engineering
  • Amanda Williams - Mechanical Engineering
  • Yiting Xiao - Biological and Agricultural Engineering
  • Wenbo Xu - Biomedical Engineering
  • Zhexi Zhu - Biomedical Engineering

Jennifer P. Cook, director of communications
College of Engineering


Razorbacks' Olympic Hopefuls Headed to Paris

Twenty-five Razorback athletes and a former graduate assistant will represent the United States and eight more countries at the Paris Olympics, following in the century-old footsteps of Herman Bagby.

Inaugural Program in Crime Analytics Wraps Up 10-Week Program for Undergraduate Visitors

Hosted by the Department of Sociology and Criminology, seven students learned about research in crime analytics as part of the NSF's 10-week Research Experiences for Undergraduates program.

Italian Faculty Present at American Association of Teachers of Italian International Conference

Five faculty gave lively conference papers: Ryan Calabretta-Sajder and Valentina Morello from the Fayetteville campus and Laura D'Angelo, Fabio Benincasa and Barbara Spaccini from the Rome campus.

Wheeler to Lead Department of Communication Disorders and Occupational Therapy

Steven Wheeler, an occupational therapist with 30 years of experience in brain injury-related teaching, research and clinical work, has been named head, replacing Fran Hagstrom, who retired this summer.

Poultry Science Department Honors Outstanding Students

Jossie Santamaria, James Higuita and Taylor Schubauer were recognized by the Department of Poultry Science for their achievements in academics during the past year.

News Daily