U of A Speech and Debate Succeeds in Last Tournament of Semester

The U of A Speech and Debate Team competed in its last tournament of the fall semester hosted by the University of Jamestown in North Dakota. The students Daisy Rehbock, Luke Hubbard, Megan Dial, Hadley Adkison, Jaci Sabatini, Luke Thurmon, Jacob Hurbanek and Max Green all succeeded in winning at least one round.

Three of the students - Green, Hubbard and Adkison - each advanced to the next level of competition in their respective divisions. Adkison was an octofinalist in the Varsity division of competition, Green was a semi-finalist in the Junior Varsity division and Hubbard was a finalist in the Junior Varsity division.  

The next event coming up for the U of A Speech and Debate Team comes the weekend of Jan. 27-29, where they will be hosting the Southern Forensics Championship Tournament. This tournament is a rotating tournament between the states of Arkansas, Louisiana and Mississippi and draws multiple surrounding states into the competition.

The team will need quite a bit of help with this, including judges. For some judges, they would need at least a bachelor's degree to judge (these judges would specifically be needed on Friday afternoon and Saturday morning). For debate judges (needed Friday afternoon-Sunday afternoon), no experience level or degree is required. The only requirement is that the judges are 18 years of age or older, or are currently enrolled in college classes. You can choose your availability during the timeframes listed above!

If you are interested in helping out your award-winning speech and debate team, please contact Hannah Morris at hannahm@uark.edu or the main email account for the team, arkansasforensics@gmail.com.


Hannah Morris, advisor in the College of Arts and Sciences and coach, Speech and Debate Team
Fulbright College Advising Center
479-575-3707, hannahm@uark.edu


Rescheduled: Campus Community Invited to 75 Years of Progress: The Lasting Legacy of Silas Hunt

A talk featuring alumna Arkie Byrd, titled "75 Years of Progress: The Lasting Legacy of Silas Hunt," has been rescheduled for noon Friday, Feb. 10, in Giffels Auditorium.

School of Art Recognizes First Windgate Accelerator Grant Winners

Maryalice Carroll, Adam Fulwiler, Jonathan Green, Abigail Henthorne, Charles Krampah, Penelope Starr-O'Berski, Fabian Rodriguez, Meredith Tinkle and Juliette Walker received $10,000 awards.

Kegley Recipient of Animal Science Society Distinguished Service Award

Beth Kegley, a professor of animal science, has been named recipient of the 2023 Southern Section Animal Science Distinguished Service Award by the American Society of Animal Science.

Williams Tabbed SEC Freshman of the Week

After a stellar start to her rookie season and a record-breaking weekend, the Gymbacks' Lauren Williams has been named SEC Freshman of the Week.

Students Can Provide Feedback About U of A for 'Top Colleges' Survey

The Wall Street Journal/College Pulse rankings are aimed to provide guidance to prospective students looking to continue their education careers. 

News Daily