U of A Staff Members Honored at Staff Appreciation Banquet

The U of A recognized more than 340 staff members for a variety of achievements and milestones Tuesday, Oct. 11, during the Staff Appreciation Banquet at the Fayetteville Town Center. The event was held during Staff Appreciation Week. 

Interim Chancellor Charles Robinson welcomed attendees, thanked U of A staff members and recognized all their hard work during the celebration. 

"I want to say thank you for what you do every single day to make our university better," Robinson said. "There's nothing that we do that doesn't involve you in some way, shape or form. I value you and appreciate you every single day." 

Associate Vice Chancellor Debbie McLoud presented the Staff Senate Awards. Twenty staff members were recognized as Employee of the Quarter, and the following staff members were named Employees of the Year: 

  • Melinda Adams, Department of History 

  • Vince Capps, Graduation and Retention 

  • Cynthia Ortiz, Public Safety 

  • Carolyn Shoemaker, Graduation and Retention 

  • Emily Wright, Office of Nationally Competitive Awards 

Part-time Employee of the Year: 

  • Maggie Roberson, Verification Assistant 

The 2021 Outstanding Team award was presented to the Arkansas Teacher Corps. Members of the ATC Outstanding Team include: 

  • Brandon Lucius, ATC Executive Director 

  • Elizabeth Hetherington, Director of Teacher Development 

  • Matthew Caston, Director of Institute 

  • Laureina Toler, Teacher Development Manager 

  • Kendra Ide, Teacher Development Manager 

  • Jamie Powell, Teacher Development Manager 

The celebration continued with the recognition of 55 staff members who completed a degree at the U of A, as well as nine staff members who received scholarships from the Staff Senate. 

"It takes real dedication to balance classwork while working full time," McLoud said. "At the U of A, we make it a priority to support staff who are furthering their education." 

To conclude the ceremony, more than 250 employees were recognized for years-of-service milestones, starting at 10 years. The following were recognized for 40 and 45 years of service: 

  • Don Barnett, 40 

  • John Clark, 40 

  • Allen Edmondson, 40 

  • Ellen Ferguson, 40 

  • Evelyn Fuller, 40 

  • Mark Kuss, 40 

  • Warren Pingel, 40 

  • David Tabor, 40 

  • Shelley Wilmoth, 40 

  • Mark Clark, 45 

  • Tom Harp, 45 

  • Betty Sharp, 45 

The full banquet program is available online and includes the names of all the staff members who were honored, as well as a short tribute to each of the staff members who have achieved 25, 30, 35, 40 and 45 years of service.  


Alicia Herrera, minor protection coordinator
Human Resources
479-575-3143, aaherrer@uark.edu


Groundbreaking for Fine Arts Center Restoration Nov. 29

The U of A will host a groundbreaking ceremony for the restoration of the Fine Arts Center at 11 a.m. Tuesday, Nov. 29, at the courtyard off Garland Avenue. The event is free and open to the public.

Ranch Horse Team Goes from Stock Horse of Texas World Show Reserve Champ to Overall Title

The U of A ranch horse team won the overall Division II collegiate title at this year's event in October, and student Jessica Bookout won the reserve all-around championship.

Honors College Recognizes Exceptional Faculty

The Honors College will recognize eight faculty members at the annual Honors College Faculty Reception from 5:30-7 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 6, in the Fowler House Conservatory.

Malloy, Shumaker, Kelley Win Hoyt Purvis Awards for Aiding International Programs

Sarah Malloy of the Office of Study Abroad, Camilla Shumaker of ITS and Christopher Kelley of the School of Law were honored with the Hoyt Purvis Award for their service to the field of international education.

Joe Hatfield, Communication Faculty Member, Wins Dissertation of the Year Award

Hatfield's dissertation merges multiple methodological frameworks to analyze the mediated history of trans suicide, with a focus on the 2014 suicide of 17-year-old Leelah Alcorn.

News Daily