54 Organizations Hiring at AFLS Career Fair Next Week

Attend the Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences Career Fair Wednesday, Oct. 5.
Photo Submitted

Attend the Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences Career Fair Wednesday, Oct. 5.

The U of A Career Fair of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences will be held from 10 a.m. to noon and 1-3 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 5, in the Arkansas Union Verizon Ballroom.

The fair is designed for students within Bumpers College and any student with interests in agriculture, food and hospitality, apparel merchandising or child development. Students will be able to interact with recruiters from over 50 organizations and learn about full- and part-time job and internship opportunities. Business casual attire is strongly encouraged to make a positive first impression.

Several organizations attending the fair Include:

  • Arkansas Department of Energy and Environment

  • Arkansas Department of Human Services

  • Aviagen

  • Bayer

  • Big Cedar Lodge

  • Buckle

  • Butterball

  • Cargill

  • FoodCorps

  • George's Inc.

  • JBS & Pilgrim's

  • Kubota Tractor Corporation

  • Land O'Frost

  • Phigenics

  • Sanderson Farms

  • Seaboard Foods

  • Simmons Prepared Foods

  • Syngenta

  • The Happy Egg Co.

  • Tyson Foods Inc.

  • University of Arkansas Community Health & Research

  • USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service

  • USDA Natural Resource Conservation Service

View the full list of organizations attending on Handshake.


Groundbreaking for Fine Arts Center Restoration Nov. 29

The U of A will host a groundbreaking ceremony for the restoration of the Fine Arts Center at 11 a.m. Tuesday, Nov. 29, at the courtyard off Garland Avenue. The event is free and open to the public.

Ranch Horse Team Goes from Stock Horse of Texas World Show Reserve Champ to Overall Title

The U of A ranch horse team won the overall Division II collegiate title at this year's event in October, and student Jessica Bookout won the reserve all-around championship.

Honors College Recognizes Exceptional Faculty

The Honors College will recognize eight faculty members at the annual Honors College Faculty Reception from 5:30-7 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 6, in the Fowler House Conservatory.

Malloy, Shumaker, Kelley Win Hoyt Purvis Awards for Aiding International Programs

Sarah Malloy of the Office of Study Abroad, Camilla Shumaker of ITS and Christopher Kelley of the School of Law were honored with the Hoyt Purvis Award for their service to the field of international education.

Joe Hatfield, Communication Faculty Member, Wins Dissertation of the Year Award

Hatfield's dissertation merges multiple methodological frameworks to analyze the mediated history of trans suicide, with a focus on the 2014 suicide of 17-year-old Leelah Alcorn.

News Daily