PRIDE Month: E. Lynn Harris

E. Lynn Harris when he was editor of the Razorback yearbook in 1977.
Razorback Yearbook

E. Lynn Harris when he was editor of the Razorback yearbook in 1977.

Alumnus E. Lynn Harris became well-known as a fiction writer, a gay man and a Razorback. While pursuing his Bachelor of Arts in journalism during the 1970s, Harris became the first Black man to cheerlead at the school and served as the first Black editor of a publication at the U of A.

As an author, Harris was a prolific writer, including 10 consecutive New York Times bestsellers. He was popular in his career for fictional stories that addressed taboo topics, especially the experiences of gay Black men. Harris returned to the U of A in 2004 to teach African American fiction until his untimely death five years later.

For more information, read the university's Portrait of Progress about Harris or go to the Encyclopedia of Arkansas History entry.


Anthony DiNicola, coordinator of cultural communities
Center for Multicultural and Diversity Education

Sarah Campau, graduate assistant
Center for Multicultural and Diversity Education


U of A Shines at National Conference Focusing on Student Success

The U of A will bring home a national award again this year from the University Professional and Continuing Education Association, and eight U of A staff members will showcase their expertise in presentations.

Movement Dance Company to Perform Fall Showcase Dec. 2-3

The Movement student showcase will be performed in the Nadine Baum Studios, 505 W. Spring St., Fayetteville, on Saturday and Sunday, Dec. 2-3, with shows at 2 p.m. and 7 p.m. each day. Get tickets now.

Three U of A Graduate Students Win at 3MT Competition

Mostafa Mahmoudi, a doctoral student in chemistry, placed first; Christina Barnes, a doctoral student psychology, placed second; and Kindler Norman, a doctoral student in physics, won the People Choice Award.

Aloia Named 2023 Gerald R. Miller Book Award Winner

Lindsey Aloia, associate dean for international education and associate professor of communication, has been awarded the 2023 Gerald R. Miller Book Award from The National Communication Association.

Staff Senate Accepting Spring 2024 Scholarship Applications Through Dec. 1

Applications for spring 2024 scholarships may be submitted via the application link on the Staff Senate Scholarships website. The deadline for submission is 5 p.m. this Friday.

News Daily