2021-22 Teaching Improvement Grants and Student Success Grants Awarded

The Wally Cordes Teaching and Faculty Support Center is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2021-22 Teaching Improvement and Student Success Grants. The Teaching Improvement Grants are funded from the TFSC budget while the Student Success Grants are administered by the TFSC and funded by Global Campus. In addition, the Office of Faculty Affairs provided supplemental funding for this year's grants program.

Recipients of Teaching Improvement Grants

Laurie Apple, Jill Rucker, Leigh Southward and Casandra Cox – School of Human Environmental Sciences and Department of Agricultural Education, Communication, and Technology, “Student, Faculty and Industry Expectations of Online Etiquette,” $2,060

Kathi Jogan – Department of Animal Sciences, “Active Learning through an Engaging Digital Environment,” $2,498.16

Shanda Hood – Department of Mathematical Sciences, “Professional Development through the Virtual Teaching Professor Conference,” $499

Jessica Kowalski – Department of Archeological Survey, “Improving Archeological Field Schools,” $2,400 

Josiah Leong – Department of Psychological Science, “Innovation Brain Imaging Analyses on a Shared Educational Resource,” $2,500

Lori Murray – Eleanor Mann School of Nursing, “Improving Online Teaching to Promote Professionalism,” $2,295

Byron Zamboanga, Roselee Ledesma, Ana Bridges and Lindsay Ham – Department of Psychological Science, “Role Playing Exercise to Improve Cultural Awareness, Sensitivity, and Empathy,” $2,500

Recipients of Student Success Grants

Allison Boykin, Michele Kilmer and Callie Bradley – Eleanor Mann School of Nursing, “DNP Project Success: An Interdisciplinary Approach,” $4,945.59

Dede Hamm and John Hickey – School of Human Environmental Sciences and Department of Continuing Education, “Event Management Simulation Development for Intro to Event Planning and Management,” $4,649

Edward Holland – Department of Geosciences, “Geology Field Camp Accessibility for Students with Disabilities after COVID-19,” $5,000

Ringo Jones – Department of Communication, “360° Video and Mixed Reality Storytelling,” $4,999.95

Natacha Souto Melgar – Department of Chemical Engineering, “Integration of Instructional Material on Membrane Technology to the Chemical Engineering Curriculum,” $4,800

Renee Speight and Suzanne Kucharczyk – Department of Curriculum and Instruction, “Video Coaching Technology to Improve Preparation of Students as Licensed Special Educators,” $4,975

Ryan Calabretta Sajder – Department of World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, “Digitizing Italian Studies: Virtual Reality in the Italian Curriculum,” $5,000

Peggy Ward, Kate Walker and Stephen Burgin – Department of Curriculum and Instruction and Department of Biological Sciences, “Interdisciplinary Collaboration to Improve Student Success in Science,” $4,903.76

As a condition of the grants, recipients are required to share the results of their scholarly projects with faculty colleagues through TFSC programs.


Lori Libbert, HEI Program coordinator
Wally Cordes Teaching and Faculty Support Center
479-871-8625, tfsc@uark.edu


Martin First to Earn Dual Degrees Through Poultry Science Partnership

Mia Martin is the first student to earn degrees from the U of A and UAPB as part of a poultry science partnership that was created in 2018.

Mott Gift Expands International Experience Opportunities for Students

A $500,000 planned gift from John Mott will enrich the international experiences of Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design students who wish to study abroad.

Undergraduate Research Week Poster Competition Winners Announced

Lucas Bellaiche, Ethan Collins, Ashley Lieber, Mandeep Kaur, Katherine Miranda Munoz, Jillian Prince, Logan Siems and Madison Whipple won prizes in the various competition categories.

Diamond Line Undergraduate Literary Magazine Releases Issue 3, Seeks Submissions for Issue 4

The Diamond Line is a student-run publication and the product of English 3903, Literary Magazine Production. Issue 3, produced in the spring 2021 semester, is now available online.

Higher Education Alumna Receives Distinguished Service Award

Arleene Breaux, a graduate of the U of A higher education doctoral program, recently earned the 2021 E. Roger Sayers Distinguished Service Award.

News Daily