McDaniel Selected as Symposium Design Contest Winner

Rebekah McDaniel
Photo Submitted

Rebekah McDaniel

The Open Education Southern Symposium has selected Rebekah McDaniel, a School of Art student, as the winner of its 2021 symposium logo design contest and its $275 prize.

The logo she created will be used exclusively for this year's event, where she will receive recognition for her design. 

"The Planning Committee for OESS 2021 has been looking for ways to create opportunities for students to learn about and become more involved in the open education field," said Stephanie Pierce, head of the Physics Library and founder of the Open Education Southern Symposium. "One avenue we thought had potential was through this year's logo design. We received so many outstanding designs from students across the country. Rebekah's design and interpretation of our theme this year made her work the clear winner. We look forward to sharing Rebekah's work throughout the conference which she can point to in order to showcase her talents and abilities."

logo for open education southern symposiumMcDaniel currently works as a graphic design intern for J.B. Hunt and says she wants to pursue a career in brand design. 

"I hope that my time as a student at the University of Arkansas will allow me to delve deeper into creative culture and allow me to produce designs across a variety of formats and platforms," McDaniel said. 

The Open Education Southern Symposium is a regional open education event with a mission to provide equitable access and development opportunities for open education professionals in the southern United States. Its three main goals are to highlight different voices and experiences, foster regional and local collaborations and partnerships, and advocate and raise awareness of open education. 


Stephanie Pierce, head, Physics Library
University Libraries

Kelsey Lovewell Lippard, director of public relations
University Libraries


Chancellor's Commission Recognizes Extraordinary Women and Women's Advocates

Each academic year, the Chancellor's Commission on Women recognizes Extraordinary Women and Women's Advocates from the U of A community. Nine were chosen this year from more than 150 nominations.

Opening Reception for Community Exhibition Happening Tonight

The opening reception for the U of A Museum's community exhibition "Bring Your Own Artifact: Razorback Spirit" will be held at 6 p.m. today, April 12, via Zoom.

Last Chance to Nominate for Staff Senate

The nomination period for Staff Senate candidates ends at 5 p.m. today. Staff members may nominate themselves or any other non-faculty member of their division, or may nominate for an at-large vacancy.

Industrial Engineering Seniors Earn Scholarship From National Honor Society

Seniors Madeline Suellentrop and Jaclyn Walls earned national scholarships from Alpha Pi Mu, the industrial engineering honor society, which provides only five scholarships nationally each year.

Rao Elected President-Elect of Institute for Biological Engineering

Raj Rao, professor and department head of biomedical engineering at the U of A, has been elected president of Institute for Biological Engineering.

News Daily