U of A Seniors of Significance Class of 2020 Announced

The Arkansas Alumni Association is honored to announce the 2020 Seniors of Significance. A total of 71 graduating seniors, commemorating the university's founding date of 1871, were selected from more than 600 nominations and represent each University of Arkansas undergraduate academic college. These Seniors of Significance were selected based on their academic achievements, leadership skills and extracurricular campus and/or community activities.

 A ceremony to honor the recipients of this award will be held at 5:30 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 30, at the Janelle E. Hembree Alumni House. During the ceremony, the Seniors of Significance receive a special gold honor cord to wear during graduation as well as a Senior of Significance certificate. More than 250 people are expected to attend including the honorees, their parents, University of Arkansas faculty and staff, as well as leadership from the university and the association.

Both the Senior Honor Citation honorees, now in its 55th year, and the Razorback Classics are selected from the 71 Seniors of Significance.

  • Gabrielle Abbott*  -  Bentonville
  • Mona Ahmed* - Giza, Egypt
  • Claire Albright - Overland Park, Kansas
  • Kevin Azanza Montoya - Rogers
  • Jackson Ballard -  Charlotte, North Carolina
  • Liliana Barrientos-Figueroa* - Carrollton, Texas
  • Harris Bethel* - Little Rock
  • Noah Black - Ocken - Little Rock
  • Nicholas Broadbent*^ - Bentonville
  • Cade Carlisle - Lubbock, Texas
  • Christine Carroll*^ - Coppell, Texas
  • Alice Chan* - Ozark
  • Kalindi Cordero - Frisco, Texas
  • Bailey Corwine - Lyndon, Texas
  • Ashley Cox* ͣ - Prairie Grove
  • Hunter Crager - Shreveport, Louisiana
  • Anna Cunningham* - DeWitt
  • Katherine de Sonnaville - Jenks, Oklahoma
  • Hailey DeWolfe* - Overland Park, Kansas
  • Odessa Elie^ - Roseau, Dominica
  • Jennie Finch* - Sherwood
  • Nicholas Foster* - Edmond, Oklahoma
  • Amanda Funderburg*^ - Ardmore, Oklahoma
  • Ann Claire Gaydos*  ͣ  - Little Rock
  • Alexandra Gentile* - Latana, Texas
  • Braeley George* - Euless, Texas
  • Andrew Greek* - Joplin, Missouri
  • Gillian Gullett* - Little Rock
  • Kevin Haney* - Rogers
  • John Hedgecock - Fayetteville
  • Ally Heiland* - Topeka, Kansas
  • Eleanor Henson* - Hot Springs
  • Catherine Howell - Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Samia Ismail* - Fort Smith
  • Alexander Johnson*^ - Olathe, Kansas
  • Amrit Kannan* - Fort Smith
  • Arianna Kiaei* - Little Rock
  • Savannah King* - Bentonville
  • Gabriel Kupovics* - Dallas, Texas
  • Sophia Landers*  ͣ - Little Rock
  • Addison Lentz* - Searcy
  • Julia Loshelder* - Flower Mound, Texas
  • Sarah Lowe*  ͣ - Rogersville, Missouri
  • Paige McGuire*^ - Claremore, Oklahoma
  • Kayla McKeon - Garland, Texas
  • Brooke Nunn* - Fayetteville
  • Chimdera Nzelu* - Plano, Texas
  • Meredith Ott* - Conway
  • Jared Pinkerton*^ - Farmington
  • Rachel Pohl* - Fayetteville
  • Ryan Pohlkamp* - Little Rock
  • Clara Puente* ** - Springdale
  • Mersady Redding* - Marshall
  • Taylor Reynolds* - Flower Mound, Texas
  • Caroline Rhomberg* - Fort Smith
  • Ashton Robbins* - Fayetteville
  • Tony Roller* - Rogers
  • Kira Simonson* - Longmont, Colorado
  • Hudson Surber* - Owasso, Oklahoma
  • Pranav Suri* - Joplin, Missouri
  • Abigail Thurstenson* - Siloam Springs
  • Francia Togba - Fort Worth, Texas
  • Kate Truitt* - Fort Smith
  • Susan Tucker* - Little Rock
  • Maya Ungar* - Fayetteville
  • Grace Vehige* - Billings, Missouri
  • Veronica Waidner* - Bentonville
  • Darci Walton* - Highland Village, Texas
  • Patric Waymire* - Bentonville
  • Jessica Wesson* - Fayetteville
  • Rebeca Zapata* ** - Elkins

* indicates the student is a member of the Honors College
** indicates the student is an Honors College Path Scholar
^ indicates the student is pursuing degrees within two colleges
ª  indicates the student is an Arkansas Alumni Association scholarship recipient


Mercedes B. Gazaway, assistant director of student programs
Arkansas Alumni Association
479-575-8609, mbalbers@uark.edu

Catherine Baltz, assistant director of communications
Arkansas Alumni Association
479-575-3151, cabaltz@uark.edu


U of A Plans Events for Women's History Month

The University of Arkansas is honoring the many contributions of women with a slate of events during Women's History Month in March.

Spring COVID-19 Safety Protocols Will Continue Throughout Semester

Social distancing, mask wearing and other COVID-19 safety protocols will remain in place at least through the end of the spring semester. Commencement times and protocols are in place for spring.

Preliminary Findings Suggest Virtual Institute a Success for U of A's Arkansas Teacher Corps

A report on the 2020 Summer Institute found that participants felt a high level of self-eficacy as well as personal development, relationship building and cultural competence in the virtual format.

Study: Moral Outrage Is Attractive Among Long-Term Relationship Seekers

Research by Mitch Brown and colleagues finds that people who display, and act on, moral outrage are seen as more benevolent and trustworthy, traits that are advantageous to long-term relationships.

Fruit Insect Entomologist Nielsen Guest for Entomology and Plant Pathology Seminar

Anne Nielsen, a Rutgers University expert on fruit insects, will give a seminar on her research at 3:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 9, via Zoom.

News Daily