COEHP Students Win Tipton, P.E.O. Awards for the 2019-20 Academic Year

Megan Rosa-Caldwell
Photo Submitted

Megan Rosa-Caldwell

Megan Rosa-Caldwell, an Exercise Science Research Center graduate assistant, recently received an ACSM Tipton Student Research Award from the American College of Sports Medicine.

Rosa-Caldwell was also selected to receive a $15,000 Philanthropic Educational Organization Scholar Award for the 2019-20 academic year.

She said the money will go toward student loan debt and to help fund conference travel.

"I'm so grateful for my supportive PEO Chapter and my chapter mentor Lorraine Brewer for their unwavering support of my application. I'm also very grateful for the support of my Ph.D mentor, Dr. Nic Greene, who encouraged me to apply for the Tipton award," Rosa-Caldwell said. "These awards will go a long way to help me gain additional training through conferences and help facilitate the next stages of my career."

Photo of Tiffany Marcantonio
Tiffany Marcantonio

Tiffany Marcantonio, a doctoral student in public health at the University of Arkansas, was also selected to receive a $15,000 Philanthropic Educational Organization Scholar Award for the 2019-20 academic year.

Marcantonio said part of her award winnings will be used for dissertation study and some will go toward statistics training on mediation and moderation. 

"I am so excited to be selected for this award. It is such an honor and I am thrilled at the new opportunities this presents me with by having this," Marcantonio said. "My PEO chapter has been a wonderful support system and they have cheered me on through this entire process. I could not have won it without their support."

Rosa-Caldwell and Marcantonio were among 150 women out of 945 nominees to earn the P.E.O distinction.

Matthew Ganio, head of the Department of Health, Human Performance and Recreation, said, "Tiffany and Megan are fantastic students, and these awards are a testament to their hard work and dedication. We are very proud of them."  

P.E.O.'s educational mission is to help women support their various educational goals through loans, grants and scholarships.  Information on the P.E.O. website notes that, "P.E.O. scholars have demonstrated their ability to make significant contributions in their chosen field of study, having assumed leadership positions in university academics, scientific research, medicine, law, performing arts, international economics, history, literature, government and other demanding fields."


Shannon G. Magsam, director of communications
College of Education and Health Professions


Physicist Awarded Vannevar Bush Fellowship by Department of Defense

The award, the department's most prestigious given to a single researcher's group, supports fundamental research with the potential to advance national security.

Faculty Member's Short Film Competes for Oxford Film Festival's Artist Vodka Prize

The Oxford Film Festival has gone virtual and the film Animal by Russell Sharman, assistant professor in the Department of Communication, is being featured and premieres today.

Law Alumni Society Announces Inaugural Award Winners

Alex Guynn will receive the Commitment to Justice Award, Nathan Bogart will be given the Early Career Award, and the Career Champion Award will go to the Legal Team at Walmart Inc.

Sarah Judy and J. Laurence Hare Named U of A's Academic Advisors of the Year

Sarah Judy of Walton College and J. Laurence Hare of Fulbright College have been selected by the University of Arkansas Academic Advising Council as 2019-20 outstanding academic advisors. 

BASIS and webBASIS Access Limited Starting Today

Starting at 5 p.m. today, webBASIS will be unavailable and BASIS access will be limited until 8 a.m. Monday, June 1. This planned outage is required to convert BASIS data to the new Workday system. 

News Daily