Supply Chain Management Honor Society Initiates New Members

Pauline Daithanawong holds her Sigma Chi Mu Tau Leadership Award.
Photo Submitted

Pauline Daithanawong holds her Sigma Chi Mu Tau Leadership Award.

The Department of Supply Chain Management at the University of Arkansas recently announced initiates to the supply chain management honor society, Sigma Chi Mu Tau, founded at the University of Arkansas in 2016.

Membership is extended to top supply chain management juniors and, as well as educators and professionals who have shown dedication and contributions to the supply chain management profession. Sigma Chi Mu Tau exists to recognize academic merit and to encourage leadership, ethical behaviors and commitment to high standards in the pursuit of supply chain management excellence.

Sigma Chi Mu Tau believes that academic excellence should be a priority for every supply chain management major and was created to remind students of the importance of scholastic achievement.  Membership is open to students majoring in supply chain management who have taken at least one upper level supply chain course:

  • Juniors in the top 20% of their class. Juniors are classified as completing 70 hours or more at the time of induction.  
  • Seniors in the top 10% of their class. Seniors are classified as being one year or less from graduation at the time of induction.

Invitations are sent to students based on rank in class. Students must accept the invitation to be initiated. Invitations are only provided once during a student's academic career.

Initiates are:

Cole Borin, Broderick Butler, Christian Candler, Cade Carlisle, Ruben Chung Loo, Pauline Daithanawong, Kristin Finical, Lauren Horne, Andrew Irvin, Anna Kesterson, Steven Kirkpatrick, Sydney Knauss, Raj Kumar, Caitlin Laney, Jin Lin, Christopher Meador, Christina Nguyen, Avelardo Raygoza Villa, Caroline Rosier, Monica Sewell, Carole (Sam) Silva-Nash, Andrew Thornton, Robert Van Vranken, Lindsey Wagaman, and Mizzi J. Yang.  

The Sigma Chi Mu Tau Leadership Award was presented to Pauline Daithanawong who started a network where baked goods are sold with the proceeds benefiting orphanages in Thailand, her home country. The award is given to a graduating senior who has exhibited strong ideals of leadership.  

The organization is accepting university memberships as well for future chapters. Contact Carole Shook, faculty adviser, at for more information.


Carole Shook, instructor
Supply Chain Management

David Speer, senior director of communications
Sam M. Walton College of Business


'Interpreting Kigali, Rwanda' Wins Award From Design Research Group

The book Interpreting Kigali, Rwanda was published by the University of Arkansas Press in collaboration with the Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design.

Projects Led by Fay Jones School Faculty Selected for New York Events in May and Into Summer

Visiting professor Cory Olsen’s interior design class and two faculty members — Jessica Colangelo and Charles Sharpless — will have projects on display in New York.

Fifth Annual Play Therapy Conference to Feature Keynote Speaker Bonnie Badenoch

The keynote speaker for the Play Therapy Conference will speak about the play can help heal trauma. The conference will be June 21-22.

Human Development and Family Sciences Students Help Parents Interact With Their Children

U of A students from the School of Human Environmental Sciences recently connected with families in Fayetteville Public Schools to help parents better interact with their children.

Board of Trustees Approves Changes to U of A Tuition and Fees

A 2.5% increase in tuition will go into effect for the fall 2019 semester.

Newswire Daily