Industrial Engineering Faculty and Students Recognized at International Conference

Photo Submitted

Several College of Engineering faculty and students earned awards at the recent annual conference of the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers in Orlando, Florida.

W. Art Chaovalitwongse, professor and holder of the 21st Century Research Leadership Chair, was recognized with the Award for Technical Innovation in Industrial Engineering. The award honors a single innovative technical contribution to the industrial engineering profession that may be recognized in any of several forms, including theory, design, application, implementation and leadership.

Chaovalitwongse's research focuses on analytics ranging from basic computational science/statistics, applied mathematical modeling, and translational research at the interface of engineering, medicine, and other emerging disciplines.

Heather Nachtmann, associate dean of research for the College of Engineering, received the Wellington Award. She is a professor of industrial engineering and holds the Earl J. and Lillian P. Dyess Endowed Chair in Engineering. The Wellington Award recognizes outstanding long-term contributions and service in the field of engineering economy that enhance the visibility of the engineering economy division of Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers. The Wellington Award is limited to individuals that have made significant contributions to the field of engineering economy.

Other awards included:

  • Clay Ferguson received the Council on Industrial and Systems Engineering Undergraduate Scholarship.
  • Nathan Clark and Alexandra Gentile received the Dwight D. Gardner Scholarship.
  • Yu "Chelsea" Jin received Gilbreth Memorial Fellowship.
  • Alexander Hendrickson received the Harold & Inge Marcus Scholarship.

Doctoral student Cesar Ruiz was one of four finalists for the QCRE Student Paper Competition. Ruiz has been a finalist in both years of his doctoral career.

Additionally, recent doctoral alumna Jen Pazour, professor at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, received the Logistics and Supply Chain Division Teaching Award.

The conference, organized by the Institute of Industrial & Systems Engineers, features research from academia and industry scholars. The conference serves as a forum for exchanging knowledge and discoveries in the industrial and systems engineering research community featuring industry exhibits, workshops and student poster sessions.


Tamara Ellenbecker, website developer
Department of Industrial Engineering

Nick DeMoss, director of communications
College of Engineering


Martin First to Earn Dual Degrees Through Poultry Science Partnership

Mia Martin is the first student to earn degrees from the U of A and UAPB as part of a poultry science partnership that was created in 2018.

Mott Gift Expands International Experience Opportunities for Students

A $500,000 planned gift from John Mott will enrich the international experiences of Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design students who wish to study abroad.

Undergraduate Research Week Poster Competition Winners Announced

Lucas Bellaiche, Ethan Collins, Ashley Lieber, Mandeep Kaur, Katherine Miranda Munoz, Jillian Prince, Logan Siems and Madison Whipple won prizes in the various competition categories.

Diamond Line Undergraduate Literary Magazine Releases Issue 3, Seeks Submissions for Issue 4

The Diamond Line is a student-run publication and the product of English 3903, Literary Magazine Production. Issue 3, produced in the spring 2021 semester, is now available online.

Higher Education Alumna Receives Distinguished Service Award

Arleene Breaux, a graduate of the U of A higher education doctoral program, recently earned the 2021 E. Roger Sayers Distinguished Service Award.

News Daily