Faculty Service Awards Presented at Bumpers College Reception

Ed Gbur, professor and director of the Agricultural Statistics Laboratory, was honored for 30 years of service.
Photo by Carlee Buckner

Ed Gbur, professor and director of the Agricultural Statistics Laboratory, was honored for 30 years of service.

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Faculty members in the U of A's Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences were recognized with service awards recently at the annual faculty awards reception at Fayetteville's Hilton Garden Inn.

Interim dean Lona Robertson presented service awards while Bruce Ahrendsen received the Outstanding International Education Award and Stephanie Hubert the Outstanding Honors Faculty Mentor Award.

Faculty recognized with service awards included:

  • 40-Year Award:
    • Tom Yazwinski, University Professor, animal science
  • 30-Year Award:
    • Edward Gbur, professor and director, Agricultural Statistics Laboratory
  • 20-Year Awards:
    • Paul Beck, professor, Southwest Research & Extension Center, animal science
    • Craig Coon, poultry nutritionist, poultry science
    • Luke Howard, professor, food science
    • Bryan Kutz, instructor and youth specialist, animal science
    • Fred Pohlman, professor, animal science
    • Michael Popp, agricultural economics and agribusiness
  • 10-Year Awards:
    • Leslie Edgar, assistant dean for student programs and associate professor, agricultural communications
    • Dirk Philipp, associate professor, animal science

Ahrendsen is a professor in the Department of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness, and serves on the University of Arkansas International Education Advisory Council and is the AEAB representative on the Bumpers College International Programs Committee.

Hubert is an apparel merchandising and product development instructor in the college's School of Human Environmental Sciences, mentored three students to degree completion last spring and was chosen by the college's Honors Student Board following nominations by honors students.

Outstanding International Education Award winners:

  • 2017: Bruce Ahrendsen, professor, agricultural economics and agribusiness
  • 2016: Jean-Francois Meullenet, department head, and Andy Proctor, University Professor, food science
  • 2015: Laurie Apple, associate professor, Kathy Smith, clinical associate professor, apparel merchandising and product development
  • 2014: Jeff Miller, professor, agricultural communications

Outstanding Honors Mentor Award winners:

  • 2017: Stephanie Hubert, instructor, apparel merchandising and product development
  • 2016: Jennie Popp, interim associate dean (Honors College) and professor, agricultural economics and agribusiness

Robertson thanked all faculty members in the college for their work and dedication, and also recognized department heads, members of the dean's staff, and new and retired faculty members in attendance.

About the Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences: Bumpers College provides life-changing opportunities to position and prepare graduates who will be leaders in the businesses associated with foods, family, the environment, agriculture, sustainability and human quality of life; and who will be first-choice candidates of employers looking for leaders, innovators, policy makers and entrepreneurs. The college is named for Dale Bumpers, former Arkansas governor and longtime U.S. senator who made the state prominent in national and international agriculture.

About the University of Arkansas: The University of Arkansas provides an internationally competitive education for undergraduate and graduate students in more than 200 academic programs. The university contributes new knowledge, economic development, basic and applied research, and creative activity while also providing service to academic and professional disciplines. The Carnegie Foundation classifies the University of Arkansas among only 2 percent of universities in America that have the highest level of research activity. U.S. News & World Report ranks the University of Arkansas among its top American public research universities. Founded in 1871, the University of Arkansas comprises 10 colleges and schools and maintains a low student-to-faculty ratio that promotes personal attention and close mentoring.


Robby Edwards, director of communications
Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences
479-575-4625, robbye@uark.edu


One Book, One Community Events Explore the Immigrant Experience

A locally produced play and a panel discussion on the local impact of “Dreamers” expand on themes of this year’s One Book selection.

U of A Events Planned to Observe Global Ethics Day, Oct. 18

The University of Arkansas will host several events on Wednesday, Oct. 18, as a part of the Global Ethics Day, which is sponsored by the Carnegie Council.

Hubert Named Bumpers College Outstanding Honors Faculty Mentor

Stephanie Hubert, an instructor in apparel merchandising and product development, has been named the Outstanding Honors Faculty Mentor for 2017 in Bumpers College.

Inspirational Chorale 40th Anniversary Celebration Week and Concert

After months of planning, the U of A Inspirational Chorale 40th Anniversary Celebration starts this week. The five-day celebration includes receptions, workshops, an alumni celebration chorus, major guest artists, tailgating and more. 

Americans Needed to Represent Their State During USA Day

USA Day is from 3:30-5 p.m. Friday, Oct. 27, at Holcombe Hall. Campus community members who represent various home states are asked to show their traditions for international students.

Newswire Daily