Razorback Marching Band Announces 2017-2018 Drum Majors

The 2017-2018 Razorback Marching Band Drum Majors Matt Ford, Jack Ryan Porter, Scott Lirgg, and Madison Spyres
Photo by Peter Hamby

The 2017-2018 Razorback Marching Band Drum Majors Matt Ford, Jack Ryan Porter, Scott Lirgg, and Madison Spyres

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Band faculty in the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences have selected Matt Ford of Bentonville, Scott Lirgg of Fayetteville, Jack Ryan Porter of West Fork, and Madison Spyres of Fort Gibson, Oklahoma as Razorback Marching Band drum majors for the 2017-2018 academic year.

Drum major candidates go through a rigorous audition adjudicated by faculty. During the selection process, students are required to teach marching fundamentals, demonstrate the traditional strut, conduct a musical selection, and complete an interview with band faculty. 

"Student leadership is vital to the success of our program," said Benjamin Lorenzo, director of the Razorback Marching Band. "We are looking forward to Matt, Scott, Jack Ryan, and Madison adding to the long legacy of talented and dedicated Razorback drum majors."

Each year drum majors are awarded the Preston and Kathryn Woodruff Drum Major Scholarship. These awards were created by Tyler Thompson, a Fulbright College alumnus and former drum major, to honor the Woodruffs for their long and faithful service to the members of the Razorback Band.

2017-18 Razorback Marching Band Drum Majors

Matt Ford is a first-year drum major. He is a junior biology major in the Department of Biological Sciences and plays percussion. 

"It's an honor to be given this opportunity to help lead the next edition of the RMB, an organization that has done much to shape who I am today," Ford said. "I'll be working alongside incredible people, and I'm looking forward to a great season!"

Scott Lirgg will return for his second year as drum major. He is a sophomore majoring in biochemistry in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and psychology in the Department of Psychological Science and plays percussion. 

"Being chosen as drum major the past two seasons has allowed me to serve the Razorback Marching Band in a way that reflects how the organization poured into me, when I was a freshman," Lirgg said. "The RMB has enabled me to have a variety of different experiences, and I am just happy to be a part of such a great organization." 

Jack Ryan Porter is a first-year drum major. He is a junior mechanical engineering major in the College of Engineering and plays trumpet. 

"To be a leader in any aspect is to be a servant even more, and this position is no different," Porter said. "I am beyond excited and grateful to have the opportunity to serve this exceptional program. As details are being finalized heading into the upcoming school year, it is shaping up to be a phenomenal season for the RMB!" 

Madison Spyres is a first-year drum major. She is a sophomore majoring in kinesiology in the College of Education and Health Professions and plays trumpet.  

"I am extremely humbled and excited to have the opportunity to serve the Razorback Marching Band as a drum major alongside these other talented and enthusiastic people," Spyres said. "They are great friends, leaders, and, teachers. I'm looking forward to working with them and making the 2017 season one to remember!" 

About the University of Arkansas Bands: The University of Arkansas Bands Program, inside the Department of Music in the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, began in 1874 and is one of the oldest band programs in the country. The program has six ensembles including the Razorback Marching Band, Hogwild Band, and four concert bands with over 400 student members representing every college at the university. 


Study Finds Discreet Shipping Used to Sell E-Cigarettes to Minors

Researchers at the U of A found businesses on TikTok are circumventing local, state and federal laws that restrict the individual sale of tobacco products.

Pat Johnson Named Bess Lomax Hawes National Heritage Fellowship Recipient

The U of A Libraries’ Arkansas Folk and Traditional Arts will host the 2024 Bess Lomax Hawes National Heritage Fellowship celebration on Thursday, June 13.

Monika Szakasits Retiring From the Law Library After 20 Years

Szakasits, associate director of the Young Law Library, is retiring at the end of May after 20 years of service. A reception will be held at 11 a.m. Friday, May 31, at the Six Pioneers Room of the Law School.

USDA-NIFA Grant Supports Microwave Tech to Zap Weed Seeds

Scientists and engineers with the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station are investigating the use of 915 MHz microwaves to neutralize weed seeds underground, including those that are herbicide resistant.

Political Science's Bayram Named a Leader for the International Studies Association

A. Burcu Bayram, professor of international relations for the Department of Political Science, has been elected as the vice president and section chair of the International Studies Association.

News Daily