U of A Faculty Members Honored as Leaders in Nursing

Jacklyn Gentry, left, and Kristin Jaye Henderson were honored June 5 at a banquet at Arkansas Children's Hospital in Little Rock.
Photo Submitted

Jacklyn Gentry, left, and Kristin Jaye Henderson were honored June 5 at a banquet at Arkansas Children's Hospital in Little Rock.

Jacklyn Gentry and Kristin Jaye Henderson, University of Arkansas nursing faculty members, were honored earlier this month by the Arkansas Action Coalition, which included them in a list of nursing leaders in Arkansas.

Gentry, assistant director of the Eleanor Mann School of Nursing, and Henderson, clinical instructor of nursing, were named to the coalition's inaugural "40 Under 40" list. The list honors emerging nurse leaders who are under the age of 40.

The 40 honorees include nurses at health systems, nursing schools and school districts across the state, chosen based on criteria that included leadership, service and contributions to the profession.

The Arkansas Action Coalition includes representatives of state health-care providers, consumer advocates, and policymakers as well as business and academic leaders. It was formed to promote recommendations made in a landmark Institute on Medicine report on the future of nursing. Identifying future nursing leaders was one of the report's recommendations and a driving force behind creation of the "40 Under 40" recognition program.

Gentry earned a master's degree in nursing from the University of Phoenix and a bachelor's degree in nursing from the U of A. Henderson received master's and bachelor's degrees in nursing, both from Arkansas Tech University.

Gentry has been a practicing registered nurse since 2002 with a primary focus on critical care nursing and clinical research. She conducts clinical research trials in cardiology at Mercy Hospital Northwest Arkansas in Rogers and is pursuing a doctoral degree.

Henderson has been a practicing registered nurse since 2004. Her professional background includes post-operative care, women's health, pediatrics, travel nursing, administration and informatics.


Heidi Wells, director of communications
College of Education and Health Professions
(479) 575-3138, heidisw@uark.edu


Groundbreaking for Fine Arts Center Restoration Nov. 29

The U of A will host a groundbreaking ceremony for the restoration of the Fine Arts Center at 11 a.m. Tuesday, Nov. 29, at the courtyard off Garland Avenue. The event is free and open to the public.

Ranch Horse Team Goes from Stock Horse of Texas World Show Reserve Champ to Overall Title

The U of A ranch horse team won the overall Division II collegiate title at this year's event in October, and student Jessica Bookout won the reserve all-around championship.

Honors College Recognizes Exceptional Faculty

The Honors College will recognize eight faculty members at the annual Honors College Faculty Reception from 5:30-7 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 6, in the Fowler House Conservatory.

Malloy, Shumaker, Kelley Win Hoyt Purvis Awards for Aiding International Programs

Sarah Malloy of the Office of Study Abroad, Camilla Shumaker of ITS and Christopher Kelley of the School of Law were honored with the Hoyt Purvis Award for their service to the field of international education.

Joe Hatfield, Communication Faculty Member, Wins Dissertation of the Year Award

Hatfield's dissertation merges multiple methodological frameworks to analyze the mediated history of trans suicide, with a focus on the 2014 suicide of 17-year-old Leelah Alcorn.

News Daily