Fulbright College Names Sturgis Fellows for 2005

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — Six freshman students have been awarded Sturgis Fellowships at the University of Arkansas, worth $50,000 each over four years.

The incoming freshman class for fall 2005 will include Rani Achhireddy of Broken Arrow, Okla.; Jarrett Bates of Fayetteville, Ark.; Tyler CarlLee of Little Rock, Ark.; Jessica Minard of Shreveport, La.; Matt Naglak of Searcy, Ark.; and Jordan Shumaker of Fort Smith, Ark.

"The 2005 class of Sturgis Fellows once again represents some of the most accomplished students in Arkansas and in the nation. They are members of award-winning Quiz Bowl teams, have served as presidents of numerous student organizations in their high schools, and are active volunteers in their communities,” said Donald R. Bobbitt, dean of the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences.

“This year’s class, like those before them, set very high standards for themselves and for their classmates. They are articulate and informed, bringing an enthusiasm for learning to every class they take. As always, we are enormously grateful to the Sturgis Trust for allowing us to attract such outstanding students to the university,” added Bobbitt.

The Sturgis Fellowship is made possible by an endowment from the Roy and Christine Sturgis Charitable Trust of the Bank of America. Each Sturgis Fellow receives $50,000, or $12,500 per year, making the Sturgis one of the most generous scholarships offered at the University of Arkansas. The fellowship pays for tuition, room and board, and provides discretionary funds for computers, musical instruments, professional journals and trips to conferences. The trust has also endowed a second program, the Sturgis Honors Scholars Grants, which fund research and study abroad programs for non-Sturgis Fellows enrolled in the college’s Honors Program.

“Over the nearly 20 years that the endowment has funded Sturgis Fellows, we have found that these students, as they increase in number, graduate and pursue their careers, carry with them the reputation of their school,” said Sidney Burris, director of Honors Studies. “They have built a momentum, one that has resulted in the growing academic reputation of the University of Arkansas.”

Rani Achhireddy, who taught Spanish, English and German to Chinese students during an exchange program at the Shi Shi Middle School in Chengdu, plans to study foreign languages, Asian studies and international relations.
A former treasurer of the National Honor Society and president of the Future Business Leaders of America, Jarrett Bates is interested in studying English, history, creative writing, economics, and foreign languages.

Tyler CarlLee, winner of the Bausch and Lomb Honorary Science Award and an AP Distinguished Scholar, is undecided on a major but has an interest in studying medicine.

Jessica Minard, who was the 1st place winner at the Junior Science and Humanities Symposium in Baton Rouge, plans to study pre-medicine and biology.



A published poet and the winner of numerous academic competitions in algebra and Spanish, Matthew Naglak will major in mathematics, secondary education and physics.



Jordan Shumaker, leader of the 2004 AAAAA State Quiz Bowl Championship team and a member of the National Honor Society, will study English, Latin, linguistics and journalism.





Dennis Clark Appointed Dean of University Libraries

Dennis T. Clark will join the U of A as Libraries Dean on Aug. 1, 2019.

Engineering Student Teams Highlight Collaboration, Innovation at Poster Competition

Students from six engineering departments presented their work at the third annual Senior Capstone Design Poster Competition.

Chris Teal Trio Performs for 'LIVE at the Five & Dime'

The Chris Teal Jazz Trio, featuring Chris Teal on drums, Matt Nelson on piano and Kyth Trantham on bass will perform from 6-8 p.m. Wednesday on the Bentonville Square.

Grow Your Exports Seminar to Teach Trade Fundamentals

The World Trade Center Arkansas and the Arkansas District Export Council will offer training on import and export issues to students, faculty and businesses professionals.

Paid Study for Non-Students on Decision Making

This is a research study that puts people's decision making to the test. The entire process is expected to last about 60 minutes and pays $40.

Newswire Daily