Fulbright College Announces 2006 Sturgis Fellows

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — The 2006 class of Sturgis Fellows and the 20th to enter the University of Arkansas includes Kristin Watson of Benton, Ark.; Matthew Sample of Gentry, Ark.; Nathan Rowe of Hot Springs, Ark.; Monica Madey of Little Rock, Ark.; and John Scott of Pikeville, Ky.

Kristin Watson
Matthew Sample

 Nathan Rowe

Monica Madey
John Scott
“The 2006 class of Sturgis Fellows once again represents some of the most accomplished students in Arkansas and in the nation. They are National Merit finalists, valedictorians, extraordinary volunteers in their communities and exemplary students,” said Donald R. Bobbitt, dean of the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences.

“This year’s class, like those before them, are articulate and informed, bringing an enthusiasm for learning to every class they take. As always, we are enormously grateful to the Sturgis Trust for allowing us to attract such outstanding students to the university,” added Bobbitt.

The Sturgis Fellowship is made possible by an endowment from the Roy and Christine Sturgis Charitable Trust of the Bank of America. Each Sturgis Fellow receives $50,000, or $12,500 per year, making the Sturgis one of the most generous scholarships offered at the University of Arkansas. The fellowship pays for tuition, room and board, and provides discretionary funds for computers, musical instruments, professional journals and trips to conferences. The trust has also endowed a second program, the Sturgis Honors Scholars Grants, which fund research and study abroad programs for non-Sturgis Fellows enrolled in the college’s Honors Program.

“This new class shares a distinct connection with the past recipients of this award, as the first Sturgis class came to campus 20 years ago this fall. Over the nearly 20 years that the endowment has funded Sturgis Fellows in Fulbright College, we have found that these students, as they increase in number, graduate and pursue their careers, carry with them the reputation of the university,” said Sidney Burris, director of Honors Studies. “They have built a momentum, one that has resulted in the growing academic reputation of the University of Arkansas.”

Kristin Watson was a member of the science club, French club, drill team, student council and junior Rotarian club at Benton High School. She has served as a camp counselor and as a volunteer with Habitat for Humanity and the Mayor’s Youth Council. She hopes to become an astronaut and plans to major in physics.

Matthew Sample, a National Merit finalist, has studied piano for nine years and has traveled to Russia, Great Britain, Italy and Mexico. He created and managed a landscape business as well as managed his own stock portfolio. He also created computer-based blueprints and elevations for construction of a new church in his community. He plans to major in biological sciences and philosophy.

Nathan Rowe, 2006 class valedictorian who was voted most likely to succeed, works at the Garland County Library and tutors students. He writes music and short stories and enjoys reading American literature. He plans to major in English.

Monica Madey, a National Merit finalist, was a member of the state championship team that won the Odyssey of the Mind competition. She has traveled to Germany, France and Italy on a 12-day European Experience tour sponsored by the Mount Saint Mary Academy history department. She plans to major in English and European Studies.

John Scott was a discus record holder at Pikeville High School, where he was also a member of the marching, concert and jazz bands and portrayed Captain Von Trapp in “The Sound of Music.” He has traveled to Scotland, England, Ireland, Belgium, Greece, the Netherlands, Germany and Japan. He plans to major in English.





Dennis Clark Appointed Dean of University Libraries

Dennis T. Clark will join the U of A as Libraries Dean on Aug. 1, 2019.

Engineering Student Teams Highlight Collaboration, Innovation at Poster Competition

Students from six engineering departments presented their work at the third annual Senior Capstone Design Poster Competition.

Chris Teal Trio Performs for 'LIVE at the Five & Dime'

The Chris Teal Jazz Trio, featuring Chris Teal on drums, Matt Nelson on piano and Kyth Trantham on bass will perform from 6-8 p.m. Wednesday on the Bentonville Square.

Grow Your Exports Seminar to Teach Trade Fundamentals

The World Trade Center Arkansas and the Arkansas District Export Council will offer training on import and export issues to students, faculty and businesses professionals.

Paid Study for Non-Students on Decision Making

This is a research study that puts people's decision making to the test. The entire process is expected to last about 60 minutes and pays $40.

Newswire Daily