Office for Education Policy Awarded $1.175 Million Grant to Facilitate Education Research

Office for Education Policy Executive Director Sarah McKenzie presents recent research.
Photo Submitted

Office for Education Policy Executive Director Sarah McKenzie presents recent research.

The College of Education and Health Professions' Office for Education Policy recently secured $1.175 million in funding from the Walton Family Foundation to support ongoing research surrounding education in Arkansas.

This grant from the Walton Family Foundation will allow Office for Education Policy to facilitate numerous ongoing projects focused on education policy and practice over the course of three years. 

Through this grant, the office plans to continue implementing policy-relevant projects tailored explicitly to Arkansas' needs. The office's many research endeavors include developing a more comprehensive education database, developing dashboards for OEP's teacher pipeline work, and expanding research agendas with school district partners across the state.

"When educators, district leaders and policymakers use evidence to inform their decisions, students can accelerate their learning," said Sarah McKenzie, executive director of the Office for Education Policy. "We are looking forward to continuing to conduct rigorous research and accessible analysis to support data-informed decision-making in education throughout the state."

The Office for Education Policy enhances the work of other education stakeholders through strategic partnerships and targeted support. Collaborative efforts with the Arkansas Department of Education, Arkansas Teacher Corps, local school districts, and other organizations help improve the outlook for education throughout the state.

The office routinely provides assistance and consultation services to state policymakers, school district leaders and classroom teachers. By helping inform education leaders in Arkansas, OEP advances policy decisions, accountability systems and educational interventions.

The OEP team was recently awarded a three-year, $400,000 grant from the Walton Family Foundation to enhance its research and data collection efforts surrounding early childhood education in Arkansas.

Founded in 2003, the Office for Education Policy is a research unit of the College of Education and Health Professions Department of Education Reform and has served as a key resource for the state's education stakeholders for over 20 years. OEP bridges the gap between research and practice, using data and evidence to improve pre-K-20 education in Arkansas. 

OEP is led by McKenzie and Associate Director Josh McGee. McKenzie and McGee are professors in the Department of Education Reform and specialize in education policy and research at the state and national levels.

Visit the Office for Education Policy website for more information on education research projects, data sets and more.


Sarah McKenzie, executive director
Office for Education Policy


Razorbacks' Olympic Hopefuls Headed to Paris

Twenty-five Razorback athletes and a former graduate assistant will represent the United States and eight more countries at the Paris Olympics, following in the century-old footsteps of Herman Bagby.

Inaugural Program in Crime Analytics Wraps Up 10-Week Program for Undergraduate Visitors

Hosted by the Department of Sociology and Criminology, seven students learned about research in crime analytics as part of the NSF's 10-week Research Experiences for Undergraduates program.

Italian Faculty Present at American Association of Teachers of Italian International Conference

Five faculty gave lively conference papers: Ryan Calabretta-Sajder and Valentina Morello from the Fayetteville campus and Laura D'Angelo, Fabio Benincasa and Barbara Spaccini from the Rome campus.

Wheeler to Lead Department of Communication Disorders and Occupational Therapy

Steven Wheeler, an occupational therapist with 30 years of experience in brain injury-related teaching, research and clinical work, has been named head, replacing Fran Hagstrom, who retired this summer.

Poultry Science Department Honors Outstanding Students

Jossie Santamaria, James Higuita and Taylor Schubauer were recognized by the Department of Poultry Science for their achievements in academics during the past year.

News Daily