Civil Engineering Student Recognized by MOVITE

Geoffery Agorku
Photo submitted

Geoffery Agorku

Geoffery Agorku, a graduate student pursuing a Master of Science in Civil Engineering with a specialization in transportation engineering at the U of A, has been awarded second place in this year's prestigious Thomas J. Seburn Student Paper Competition. Agorku's recognition stems from his groundbreaking paper, which introduces a novel approach to enhancing the efficiency of barge traffic monitoring on inland waterways.

The paper, carefully crafted under the mentorship of associate professor Sarah Hernandez, titled "Traffic Cameras to Detect Inland Waterway Barge Traffic: An Application of Machine Learning," proposes a novel real-time detection system powered by advanced deep learning algorithms. Leveraging existing traffic camera infrastructure, Agorku's research employs the YOLOv8 model, proficient in identifying and classifying various types of vessels and barges from video data. This innovative method not only streamlines the monitoring process but also significantly reduces latency in data processing, leading to more timely and accurate traffic assessments.

"The primary objective of this study was to address the challenges faced by public agencies in freight transportation planning," Agorku explains. "By providing a more reliable and immediate source of traffic data, the research aims to facilitate better-informed decision-making processes and enhance the overall efficiency of transportation planning strategies." Agorku's academic journey is propelled by a passion for innovation in transportation systems and a commitment to contributing to sustainable infrastructure development. His research delves into the intricacies of freight transportation planning, focusing on the development of long-range planning solutions for the public sector.

In recognition of his outstanding contribution, Agorku will be presented with a certificate commemorating his achievement along with a cash award during the upcoming Missouri Valley Section of the Institute of Transportation Engineers (MOVITE) meeting on April 18.

The Thomas J. Seburn Student Paper Competition, an annual event organized by MOVITE, aims to honor students who have made significant contributions to the field of transportation and/or traffic engineering. Agorku's remarkable accomplishment underscores his exemplary academic prowess and promises a bright future in the realm of transportation engineering.

Agorku expresses his gratitude for the recognition and eagerly anticipates the award ceremony where he will receive his well-deserved accolades. His innovative research serves as a testament to the power of academic inquiry in driving progress and shaping the future of transportation infrastructure.


Study Finds Discreet Shipping Used to Sell E-Cigarettes to Minors

Researchers at the U of A found businesses on TikTok are circumventing local, state and federal laws that restrict the individual sale of tobacco products.

Pat Johnson Named Bess Lomax Hawes National Heritage Fellowship Recipient

The U of A Libraries’ Arkansas Folk and Traditional Arts will host the 2024 Bess Lomax Hawes National Heritage Fellowship celebration on Thursday, June 13.

Monika Szakasits Retiring From the Law Library After 20 Years

Szakasits, associate director of the Young Law Library, is retiring at the end of May after 20 years of service. A reception will be held at 11 a.m. Friday, May 31, at the Six Pioneers Room of the Law School.

USDA-NIFA Grant Supports Microwave Tech to Zap Weed Seeds

Scientists and engineers with the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station are investigating the use of 915 MHz microwaves to neutralize weed seeds underground, including those that are herbicide resistant.

Political Science's Bayram Named a Leader for the International Studies Association

A. Burcu Bayram, professor of international relations for the Department of Political Science, has been elected as the vice president and section chair of the International Studies Association.

News Daily