Staff Senate Announces Spring 2024-2025 Scholarship Recipients

Staff Senate Announces Spring 2024-2025 Scholarship Recipients
University Relations

The U of A Staff Senate is pleased to announce the spring 2024-25 Staff Senate Scholarship recipients. The continued support by campus administration and the greater campus community allows this program to continue positively affecting staff lives.

The Staff Senate Scholarship is intended to support campus staff in their continued undergraduate and graduate education. This semester, 13 scholarships have been awarded including:

Ivan Anaya
Jessica Burkett
Maddie DeBucce
Katie Doughty
Anaid Espinosa
Tara Ferkel
Marsia Malone
Vicki Martin
April McDowell
Austin Schwarzkopf
Ellie Scott
Lisa Spurlin
Cadi Stair

About the Staff Senate Endowed Scholarship: Established in 2000, the Staff Senate Scholarship initially funded a single scholarship. Now, every year, a minimum of three scholarships are awarded by the Staff Senate based on financial need. These scholarships include the Rick A. Haley Memorial Scholarship, the Barbara G. Taylor Scholarship and the Susan Imes Yell Scholarship. Thanks to the support of the university community, over 150 scholarships have been granted to staff members pursuing their educational goals.

Scholarships have been established to encourage and promote staff development through higher education in both undergraduate and graduate studies. Applicants must be 100% appointed employees at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, for at least one year before the scholarship deadline and demonstrate financial need. The Staff Senate Scholarship and Awards website lists further criteria for applicants to meet.

The Staff Senate is an employee group on the U of A campus whose primary function is to work with university administrators to address staff concerns related to the quality of work life on campus. The Staff Senate represents nearly 3,600 employees on the Fayetteville campus. Further information may be found on the Staff Senate website.

About Staff Senate: Created in 1976 by Board of Trustees Policy 810.1, Staff Senate and its elected senators have the responsibility of making recommendations to university leadership on any matter of staff concern, including quality of work life, the efficiency of operations and staff service to the campus community. Staff Senate advocates in the areas of compensation, working conditions, health and wellness, fringe benefits, safety, parking and other workplace issues. In addition, senate works to celebrate, recognize and give back to staff through programs such as Employees of the Quarter & Year, awards for Staff Team and Part-Time Employee of the Year, Staff Appreciation Week, the annual Staff Appreciation Picnic, Staff Senate Scholarships and RazorGifts. 

Monthly meetings are held the second Wednesday of each month from 3-4:30 p.m. and are open to the public both in person and virtually. Meeting details, lists of sitting senators and additional information can be found at Staff Senate website.


Alisha Gilbride, chair, Staff Senate Scholarship
Staff Senate


U of A Student Discovers 'Experience of a Lifetime' at Rome Center

Kati Rod, a double major in international business management and agricultural business, was able to experience a study abroad opportunity at the U of A's Rome Center that gave her a new perspective on history. 

Technology Ventures Inventor's Spotlight: Morten Jensen

Jensen is an associate professor of biomedical engineering at the U of A who specializes in medical devices and experimental cardiovascular surgery.

Sustainable Ag, Ranching Expert Pratt Named Animal Science King Visiting Scholar

Dave Pratt, an authority on sustainable agriculture and profitable ranching, will give a presentation on "Three Secrets For Increasing Profit: Economy vs. Finance" at 3:30 p.m. March 14.

Jayakumari Nair, the February Student Leader of the Month

Originally from St. Petersburg, Florida, Nair came to the U of A to study Arabic, Middle East Studies and Asian Studies.

Early Career Investigator Award Workshop to Be Hosted by Division of Research and Innovation

The Division of Research and Innovation is hosting an annual workshop for untenured faculty who are considering early career grant proposals.

News Daily