Lambda Pi Eta Honor Society Inducts Fall 2023 Cohort

The fall 2023 Lambda Pi Eta cohort.
Lacie Bryles

The fall 2023 Lambda Pi Eta cohort.

Lambda Pi Eta, the honor society for communication majors, held their fall 2023 Induction Ceremony on Dec. 5. Lambda Pi Eta welcomed 43 new members in the fall 2023 cohort. Students must be invited by the LPH adviser, Jake Dionne, to become members of the honor society after meeting the academic requirements.

To be invited to be a member of Lambda Pi Eta, students must have completed 60 semester credit-hours with a minimum cumulative 3.0 GPA and completed 12 semester credit-hours in communication studies with a minimum 3.25 GPA. Students in LPH are in the top 35% of their class and are encouraged to develop their studies through undergraduate research.  

At the ceremony, LPH officers President Ally Holsted and Treasurer Alicen Grindstaff gave speeches addressing the new members, family, friends and department faculty in attendance. Their speeches featured their contributions to the U of A Lambda Pi Eta chapter and the opportunities that the honor society has provided them. 

The new members, officers, alumni and faculty engaged in an uplifting discussion about opportunities seized and opportunities ahead of them, thanks to their participation in LPH, internships and the U of A Department of Communication.  

Fall 2023 Induction Class of Lambda Pi Eta

Landri Betts  Bella Blackwell 
Sydney Buffalo  Avery Burkemper 
Ben Bury  Logan Fahrlander 
Paige Fanning  Rylee Fast 
Emily Fentriss  Rebecca Fleener 
Maya Frank  Jillian Gardner 
Sarah Heath  Emily Hewett 
Emma Hilburn  Tess Jones 
Zachary Kieffner  Kaia Lore 
Emma Lovell  Sofia Lozano 
Jena Lunsford  Carlie Marrs 
Riley Mitchell  Allyson Patrick 
Paul Douglas Prins  Kayla Ralph 
Olivia Ramirez  Margot Reemtsen 
Reagan Reynolds Sophia Rosenfeld 
Rachel Rosser  Jackie Schula 
Terri Smith  Cullen Smith 
Brina Snow  Ashley Tatum 
Naomi Watanbe   Daphne West 
Logan Wilson  Caroline Wilson
Lily Winters  Katrina Woodward 
Fedora Young   

Each member of the induction cohort was presented with a graduation cord, a pin and a certificate. The Department of Communication extends congratulations and thanks to these students for their superior academic efforts and accomplishments. 

The original chapter of Lambda Pi Eta began at the U of A in 1985 under the direction of professor Steve Smith. It was subsequently chartered into a national organization, receiving the official sanction of the National Communication Association. The name, Lambda Pi Eta, represents the first letters in Greek of the three types of proofs that Aristotle presented in his teachings of rhetoric. They include Logos (Lambda), Pathos (Pi) and Ethos (Eta). Currently, Lambda Pi Eta has more than 500 active chapter affiliates worldwide. 


Lacie Bryles, marketing and programs specialist
Department of Communication


#MyPathToSeniorWalk: Lizbeth Hernandez Finds Her Footing

Hernandez, a Nashville, Arkansas, native and accounting major, is a first-generation student who has found her footing at the U of A after earning her associate's degree at Cossatot Community College. 

School of Art Director Candidates to Present to Campus

Three candidates for the position of director of the School of Art in the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences - Jason Guynes, Adam Herring and Rachel Debuque - will hold open forums on March 4, 7 and 11, respectively.

AI Outperforms Humans in Standardized Tests of Creative Potential

GPT-4 scored higher than human participants in three tests designed to measure divergent thinking, an indicator of creative potential. 

Fulbright College's Paul D. Adams to Give Prestigious Lecture at Indiana State University

Adams' lecture will highlight findings from his research at the U of A and is titled "Biophysical and Biochemical Approaches to Characterize Novel Molecular Details That Influence Ras-Related Protein Cell Signaling Function." 

The Office of Innovation for Education to Host Annual Education Innovation Rally

At the 2024 Innovation Rally, individuals, teams and organizations will step beyond conventional boundaries and approaches and embrace a collaborative approach to problem-solving.

News Daily