Staff Senate Accepting Spring 2024 Scholarship Applications Through Dec. 1

Staff Senate Accepting Spring 2024 Scholarship Applications Through Dec. 1
Photo Submitted

Are you a full-time, degree-seeking staff member taking classes at the U of A Fayetteville? Or do you plan to start taking classes in spring 2024? If so, you may be eligible for scholarship support through the U of A Staff Senate Scholarship fund.

Applications for spring 2024 scholarships may be submitted via the application link on the Staff Senate Scholarships website. The deadline for submission is 5 p.m. Friday, Dec. 1. Late or incomplete applications will not be reviewed.

Awards: The number of scholarships to be awarded will be determined by the number of eligible applicants. Disbursement will be up to $250 for the spring 2024 semester only.

Purpose: Staff Senate Scholarships were developed to promote and encourage staff development through higher education.

Eligibility: Applicant must be a staff member eligible to receive the tuition waiver employment benefit as defined in Fayetteville Policies and Procedures 512.0 at the start of the semester that the scholarship award would be applied. Staff currently receiving full-year Staff Senate Scholarships for fall 2023/spring 2024 are not eligible for spring only scholarships. 

Criteria: The following criteria will be utilized to determine the award. Each applicant must:

  • Have a cumulative GPA of 2.5 or higher to receive the award,
  • Be enrolled in or planning to enroll in at least three credit hours of coursework for the spring 2024 term,
  • Express a desire to contribute to the university through further educational endeavors,
  • Demonstrate a need for financial assistance in the pursuit of further education and
  • Provide two references by submitting two recommendation forms.

Finalists may be interviewed by the members of the Scholarship Committee.

About Staff Senate Scholarships: Staff Senate Scholarships, including the Barbara G. Taylor Staff Senate Scholarship, the Rick A. Haley Memorial Scholarship, and the Susan Imes Yell Scholarship, are available to degree-seeking University of Arkansas staff members. Scholarships are offered twice each year for the full academic year (fall/spring) and spring term only with up to $250.00 awarded per semester. The number of scholarships and amount awarded per recipient is determined by the Staff Senate and dependent on funds available.  Additional information about Staff Senate Scholarships, including application and award timelines, can be found on the Staff Senate Scholarships website.

Donations to the Staff Senate Endowed Scholarship Fund may be made at any time. 

About Staff Senate: Created in 1976 by Board of Trustees Policy 810.1, Staff Senate and its elected senators have the responsibility of making recommendations to university leadership on any matter of staff concern, including quality of work life, the efficiency of operations, and staff service to the campus community. Staff Senate advocates in the areas of compensation, working conditions, health and wellness, fringe benefits, safety, parking, and other workplace issues. In addition, Senate works to celebrate, recognize, and give back to staff through programs such as Employees of the Quarter & Year, awards for Staff Team and Part-Time Employee of the Year, Staff Appreciation Week, the annual Staff Appreciation Picnic, Staff Senate Scholarships, and RazorGifts.

Monthly meetings are held the second Wednesday of each month from 3-4:30 p.m. and are open to the public both in-person and virtually.  Meeting details, lists of sitting Senators, and additional information can be found at Staff Senate website.


Alisha Gilbride, interim chair, Staff Senate Scholarships Committee
Staff Senate


U of A Student Discovers 'Experience of a Lifetime' at Rome Center

Kati Rod, a double major in international business management and agricultural business, was able to experience a study abroad opportunity at the U of A's Rome Center that gave her a new perspective on history. 

Technology Ventures Inventor's Spotlight: Morten Jensen

Jensen is an associate professor of biomedical engineering at the U of A who specializes in medical devices and experimental cardiovascular surgery.

Sustainable Ag, Ranching Expert Pratt Named Animal Science King Visiting Scholar

Dave Pratt, an authority on sustainable agriculture and profitable ranching, will give a presentation on "Three Secrets For Increasing Profit: Economy vs. Finance" at 3:30 p.m. March 14.

Jayakumari Nair, the February Student Leader of the Month

Originally from St. Petersburg, Florida, Nair came to the U of A to study Arabic, Middle East Studies and Asian Studies.

Early Career Investigator Award Workshop to Be Hosted by Division of Research and Innovation

The Division of Research and Innovation is hosting an annual workshop for untenured faculty who are considering early career grant proposals.

News Daily