Armed Forces Employee Impact Group Leadership

The Armed Forces Employee Impact Group is happy to announce its officers for 2023-2025. The new AFEIG chairperson is Steve McClain. Melinda Schroeder will serve as the vice chairperson, Steven Rosales as treasurer and Chris Jones as secretary. 

There are four committees in the Armed Forces Employee Impact Group to help with the group's activities. These consist of:

  • Communications
  • Special Events
  • Professional Development
  • Recruitment and Retention

The chairpersons for each committee are Mike Emery for communications, Chris Jones for special events, Emery Gower for professional development and Danielle Williams for recruitment and retention. 

"As the out-going chair, I am happy to welcome the new leadership for 2023-2025," said Williams, associate vice chancellor and executive director of equal opportunity, compliance and Title IX. "I appreciate those stepping up to take on these roles to bring new energy to the group!"

The Armed Forces Employee Impact Group is dedicated to assisting the university in accomplishing its mission of strengthening diversity by fostering community, belonging and mattering; and improving retention of students, faculty and staff who have served or are currently serving in the armed forces. The Armed Forces Employee Impact Group is committed to service and to diversity, equity and inclusion. In collaboration with campus partners, it aspires to cultivate an environment in which veterans and former military members can flourish, creating opportunities for social interaction, networking, mentoring, community engagement and professional and personal development. All veterans and service members are welcome. 

Please email Chris Jones at for more information. Information about U of A Employee Impact Groups may be found at


Chris Jones, training and communications coordinator
Department of Equal Opportunity, Compliance and Title IX


Research Leads to First-Ever Agricultural Communications Program in the UK

Jefferson Miller, a researcher for the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station and professor of the agricultural communications, is helping develop a curriculum for Scotland's Rural College in Edinburgh.

Office for Education Policy Awarded $1.175 Million Grant to Facilitate Education Research

The grant will allow Office for Education Policy to facilitate numerous ongoing projects focused on education policy and practice over the course of three years. 

Study Shows Sustainability Advantage for Omnichannel Retailers

Something as simple as sustainability labels showing the adverse implications of shipping online purchases to one's home cut those home deliveries by more than 40% and increased store pickup.

AECT Students, Faculty Present Papers, Posters At Agricultural Education Meeting

A paper by professors Don Johnson, Will Doss and Chris Estepp examing ChatGPT use by novice Arduino programmers won the Outstanding Presentation award. 

NSF Awards Regional Training Hub Grant to Chemical Engineering's Wickramasinghe and Nayani

The National Science Foundation has awarded Ranil Wickramasinghe and Karthik Nayani a five-year $500,000 grant to develop a regional workforce training hub in Arkansas.

News Daily