Kaman Serving as Member of Association's Membership and Community Portfolio Committee

Tulin Kaman
Russell Cothren, University Relations

Tulin Kaman

Tulin Kaman, an assistant professor of mathematics, has been invited to serve as a member of the Membership & Community Portfolio Committee of the Association for Women in Mathematics for a term of three years, starting this past Wednesday, Feb. 1.

Kaman is the Lawrence Jesser Toll Jr. Chair in the Department of Mathematical Sciences of the U of A's Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences.

The AWM Membership & Community Portfolio Committee oversees and assists in recruitment and retention of members; maintains and strengthens relationships with AWM members, including student chapter members and nominee members; and reviews and makes recommendations concerning individual, institutional and corporate memberships and sponsorships, including membership fees and benefits.

"I am honored to be asked to serve on the AWM committee to help create a community in which women and girls can thrive in their mathematical endeavors and to promote equitable opportunity and treatment of women and others of marginalized genders and gender identities across the mathematical sciences," Kaman said.

Kaman and her students established the U of A AWM Student Chapter in 2019 and have been organizing activities to promote an increased knowledge of and greater interest in the mathematical sciences, greater understanding of the contributions of women in the mathematical sciences, and mentoring and encouraging women and girls as they prepare for careers in the mathematical sciences. The chapter meetings are held on the first Thursday of every month in Science Engineering Building room 350 and are open to all students.

About Association for Women in Mathematics: The Association for Women in Mathematics is a non-profit organization founded in 1971. The AWM currently has more than 3,500 members representing a broad spectrum of the mathematical community — from the United States and around the world! Since its founding in 1971 by a small but passionate group of women mathematicians, the Association for Women in Mathematics has grown into a leading society for women in the mathematical sciences, and is one of the societies comprising the Conference Board of the Mathematical Sciences. The AWM's programs not only support those who participate in them directly, but also help influence the mathematics culture more generally, so that young women entering the field today encounter an environment that is more nurturing than that of the 1970's and 1980's. Throughout its 50-year history, the AWM has played a critical role in increasing the presence and visibility of women in the mathematical sciences.


Tulin Kaman, assistant professor
Department of Mathematical Sciences
479-263-7964, tkaman@uark.edu

Andra Parrish Liwag, senior director of communications
Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences
479-575-4393, liwag@uark.edu


Pryor Center to Present 'Revealing Fayetteville's Hidden Cultural Landscape'

Sharon Killian and Jami J. Lockhart will present "Revealing Fayetteville's Hidden Cultural Landscape" at 6 p.m. Thursday, March 30, at the David and Barbara Pryor Center on the Fayetteville Square.

Cooper Awarded Sylvia Lane Mentor Fellowship by Agricultural and Applied Economics Association

Courtney Cooper, a doctoral student in environmental dynamics, will work with Dawn Thilmany, a professor of agricultural economics at Colorado State University.

Christal Badour, Expert in Trauma, to Give Colloquium March 30

Alumna Christal Badour, an an associate professor at the University of Kentucky, will discuss sexual trauma during a lecture at 4 p.m. on Thursday, March 30, in Chemistry Building room 0144.

Engineering Faculty Travel to North Carolina to Connect With Educators and Students

Burak Eksioglu, industrial engineering professor and graduate program chair, and Ed Pohl, professor and department head, met with students in North Carolina to recruit graduate students.

Razorback Women's Basketball Takes on Texas Tech at 7 p.m. Friday

After defeating Stephen F. Austin in the second round, the Arkansas Razorbacks will take on Texas Tech at 7 p.m. Friday in Bud Walton Arena.

News Daily