Kippenbrock Earns Luther Christman Award From American Association of Men in Nursing

Professor Thomas Kippenbrock (left) received the Luther Christman Award at the American Association of Men in Nursing Conference. He's pictured with Blake Smith, association president.
Photo Submitted

Professor Thomas Kippenbrock (left) received the Luther Christman Award at the American Association of Men in Nursing Conference. He's pictured with Blake Smith, association president.

Thomas Kippenbrock, a professor in the Eleanor Mann School of Nursing, recently received the American Association of Men in Nursing's Luther Christman Award for his service to the organization and distinguished career in nursing.

This award is the highest accolade bestowed upon a member or leader in the organization. It's named for the late Luther Christman for his contributions to the nursing profession and his role in co-founding the association.

"Dr. Kippenbock's award is timely, as we recently formed an AAMN Chapter at the University of Arkansas," said Jessie Casida, executive director of the U of A nursing school.

One of the association's goals is to encourage men of all ages to become nurses and join all nurses in strengthening and humanizing health care. Casida said the number of male nurses in Arkansas is below the national average. "We are committed to diversifying the field through our college's 'WE CARE' and diversity, equity and inclusion initiatives," he said.

Kippenbrock's research and publication contributions have routinely focused on men's health, men in the nursing profession, and advanced practice nurses in rural areas, particularly in the Mississippi Delta and southern states. His scholarly publications also include examinations of professional issues and practices, such as hospitalized patient falls, student attrition, and nursing administrator turnover.

Kippenbrock was head of the U of A nursing school from 2003 to 2008. Before working in academia, he served as a surgical and medical ICU staff/charge nurse and a clinical research nurse coordinator at university and public hospitals in Indiana.

Kippenbrock received his master's in nursing and his doctorate in higher education administration from Indiana University, where he went on to serve as assistant chair of nursing administration and teacher education. He also served as associate dean and interim director of the University of San Francisco School of Nursing and as assistant dean of the University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Nursing. He was also chair of the nursing department in the Arkansas State University College of Nursing and Health Professions, where he launched the first nurse anesthetist program in the state.


Shannon G. Magsam, director of communications
College of Education and Health Professions


Taggart Architects Honors Alumnus Jerry E. Currence With Scholarship

The North Little Rock design firm has given $50,000 to create an Advance Arkansas scholarship for Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design students.

Undergraduate Mock Trial Closes Out the Month With Multiple Strong Showings

The U of A Mock Trial teams competed in Alabama and Nebraska during the past weekend, taking second place at the Crimson Classic and third place at the Scarlet and Cream Invitational.

Teaching and Faculty Support Center Supports Teaching With Winter Teaching Symposium Event

More than 200 professors attended sessions designed to bring new ideas related to teaching at the beginning of the spring term and was built around the theme of shedding light on good teaching practices. 

Former Horticulture and Forestry Department Chair Dies

George Bradley, a former chair of the U of A Department of Horticulture and Forestry from 1968 to 1991, died Jan. 28, 2023. He was 96.

Communication Sciences and Disorders Invites Public Comment as Part of Reaccreditation Process

The Communication Sciences and Disorders Program is seeking comments from the public about the graduate program in speech-language pathology in preparation for an accreditation site visit.

News Daily