Creative Writing and Translation Alumni and Graduate Student Receive Artists 360 Awards

From left, alumni Brody Parrish Craig and Savine Schmidt, and M.F.A. student Lily Buday.
Courtesy Artists 360

From left, alumni Brody Parrish Craig and Savine Schmidt, and M.F.A. student Lily Buday.

Mid-America Arts Alliance has announced the recipients of the 2022 Artists 360 Awards. Two alumni of the M.F.A. Program in Creative Writing and Translation in the Department of English have been awarded project grants, and a current M.F.A. student has been awarded a student grant award. Their proposed projects focus on publication and community engagement, photography and nonfiction narrative, and fiction writing.

Artists 360, a program of Mid-America Arts Alliance, made possible through the support of the Walton Family Foundation provides grant funding and professional development opportunities to individual artists of all disciplines in the greater Northwest Arkansas area.

Grants include learning opportunities to develop entrepreneurial skills and build sustainable careers, creating a network of leading regional artists. 

M.F.A. Program in Creative Writing and Translation alumni recipients of project grants are: 

Brody Parrish Craig who, with Maximiliano Oliver Calabotta "will work within Arkansas' TGNC community to create a zine publication responding to the prompt "Trans Joy IS". Through generative events, publication, and artist showcases, we will further Twang's mission to collaborate and create a TGNC+ arts collective."

Sabine Schmidt, whose "Rememorials" is comprised of "a series of color film photographs showing paper models of vanished homes, schools, businesses, and other buildings, taken in the original locations. All were places of racial injustice. Nonfiction narratives tell the stories of each site and the people who lived, studied, or worked there. The paper structures, photos, and stories return shape to the fading knowledge of what happened in those places, opening up opportunities for learning, understanding, and atonement."

A student grant was awarded to current fourth-year M.F.A. student Lily Buday. A fiction writer in her fourth year of the program, Buday was recognized by Artists 360 for her work in fiction writing.


Jane Valerie Blunschi, assistant director, Program in Creative Writing and Translation
Department of English


Kayleb Rae Candrilli, 2023-24 Walton Visiting Writer in Poetry, to Read in Fayetteville

Candrilli will read from their work at 7 p.m. Thursday in the Home Economics Auditorium, room 0102, as the 2023-24 Walton Visiting Writer in Poetry.

Gender Studies Program's Third Annual Bridge Fellows Program

The Bridge Fellows Program is designed to support graduate research on gender issues in any department or college for the spring semester.

Gavin Miller Selected as September's Student Leader of the Month

Gavin Miller, an honors junior from Bryant who is studying public health and biology, has been selected as the Student Leader of the Month for August. 

U of A Health Plans Add RSV Vaccines to Medical Coverage Options

The U of A System Office has announced that eligible U of A employees will soon have access to Respiratory Syncytial Virus Infection vaccines covered with no out-of-pocket expense through United Medical Resources. 

Linking Belonging to a Transformational Workforce

The lecture and networking sessions are for senior leaders and human resource partners to engage with Dr. Charles Barber on the importance of linking belonging and leveraging diversity, equity, inclusion and belonging in a transformative workforce.

News Daily