Industrial Engineering Honor Society Chapter Wins First Place Outstanding Chapter Award

Industrial Engineering Honor Society Chapter Wins First Place Outstanding Chapter Award
Photo Submitted

The U of A chapter of Alpha Pi Mu was awarded first place for the 2021-22 Outstanding Chapter Award. Over the past two semesters, the chapter has been very busy working to support students and the community with its efforts.

Some events the chapter sponsored were a welcome back breakfast for the start of the semester, a global studies event to explain the process of applying for global studies scholarships and a graduate school preparation event to answer questions about the process of applying for graduate school.

Volunteer opportunities included "Packing the Pantry" for the Full Circle Food Pantry at the Volunteer Action Center and volunteering at the Habitat for Humanity ReStore to organize and clean the warehouse.

In addition to these activities, three of the senior members earned national scholarships from Alpha Pi Mu: Shantal Sarmiento received the John L. Imhoff Globalization Scholarship; Natalia Sandhu was awarded the Paul E. Givens Diversity Scholarship; and Coleman Warren received the Alpha Pi Mu Scholarship.

The faculty sponsor, associate professor Kelly Sullivan, commented, "It is a great honor for our chapter to receive this award. I am thankful for an outstanding team of student officers whose dedicated service and leadership are most deserving of this recognition." 

Carrie Pennington, program coordinator in the Department of Industrial Engineering, serves as the staff support person and is key to helping the students succeed with their projects.

"Alpha Pi Mu has done an outstanding job engaging with our student body and local community this past year," said Ed Pohl, Industrial Engineering Department head. He continued, "I want to thank our faculty and staff advisers, Dr. Sullivan and Ms. Carrie Pennington, for their mentorship and support in helping the Alpha Pi Mu officers and members successfully plan and execute these supportive events with the industrial engineering student body as well as the local community."

The chapter board for 2021-22 included: Natalia Sandhu, president; Camila Schrader, vice president; Luke Weiner, treasurer; Valerie Jackson, secretary; Brandon Jerome, social chair; Kaitlyn Frey, media chair; and Austin Wood, historian.


Tamara O. Ellenbecker, website developer
Department of Industrial Engineering

Jennifer P. Cook, director of communications
College of Engineering


Muhammad Ali Muhammad Selected as September Student Leader of the Month

Muhammad Ali Muhammad, a junior originally from Islamabad, Pakistan, who is studying poultry science, has been selected as the Student Leader of the Month for September 2022.

Speed Limits Reduced to 20 mph in Campus, Residential Areas

The U of A has lowered the default speed limit through the campus area from 25 mph to 20 mph as part of a collaborative effort with the City of Fayetteville.

Engineering Faculty Travel to Monterrey, Mexico, to Connect with Educators

Burak Eksioglu and Alan Vazquez, professors in the Department of Industrial Engineering, recently traveled to Monterrey, Mexico, as part of an effort to recruit graduate students and build relationships.

WISE Symposium Honors Supply Chain Legends and Looks to the Future

The symposium kicks off Oct. 6-7 at the Sam M. Walton College of Business and will highlight female supply chain management pioneers.

University of Arkansas Latin American Ensemble to Perform at U of A Fort Smith

The University of Arkansas Latin American Ensemble will give a special performance at UA Fort Smith at 6:30 p.m. today, Monday, Oct. 3, in the Campus Center Reynolds Room.

News Daily