Arkansas Senate Honors Department of Education Reform

From left: Robert Maranto, Robert Costrell, Albert Cheng, Sarah McKenzie, Gema Zamarro, Jennifer Ash, Patrick Wolf, Jonathan Wai, Josh McGee and Sarah Moore.
Photo Submitted

From left: Robert Maranto, Robert Costrell, Albert Cheng, Sarah McKenzie, Gema Zamarro, Jennifer Ash, Patrick Wolf, Jonathan Wai, Josh McGee and Sarah Moore.

Faculty from the University of Arkansas' Department of Education Reform traveled to Little Rock recently to testify before the Arkansas Senate.

They updated the Senate on the department's education policy work and offered their expertise as needed in the future. Sarah Moore and Jennifer Ash, alumni from the program, joined faculty.

The Senate passed a resolution at the Feb. 16 meeting, recognizing the department's achievements throughout the past two years. Sen. Bob Ballinger was the resolution's lead sponsor, which honored the department, and Patrick J. Wolf, a Distinguished Professor of Education Policy and 21st Century Endowed Chair in School Choice.

"I appreciate the Senate honoring this department for their years of work to provide invaluable research to improve the education of students across the nation," Ballinger said. "They are an Arkansas treasure, and it's good they are getting this attention."  

The resolution cited the department's service and various projects, including those related to arts integration, trauma-informed public charter schools, education about the Holocaust, and STEM curricula. It also detailed the department's extensive research into school choice, education policy, and teacher quality.

The department's mission is to advance education and economic development by improving academic achievement in elementary and secondary schools.


Shannon G. Magsam, director of communications
College of Education and Health Professions


Groundbreaking for Fine Arts Center Restoration Nov. 29

The U of A will host a groundbreaking ceremony for the restoration of the Fine Arts Center at 11 a.m. Tuesday, Nov. 29, at the courtyard off Garland Avenue. The event is free and open to the public.

Ranch Horse Team Goes from Stock Horse of Texas World Show Reserve Champ to Overall Title

The U of A ranch horse team won the overall Division II collegiate title at this year's event in October, and student Jessica Bookout won the reserve all-around championship.

Honors College Recognizes Exceptional Faculty

The Honors College will recognize eight faculty members at the annual Honors College Faculty Reception from 5:30-7 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 6, in the Fowler House Conservatory.

Malloy, Shumaker, Kelley Win Hoyt Purvis Awards for Aiding International Programs

Sarah Malloy of the Office of Study Abroad, Camilla Shumaker of ITS and Christopher Kelley of the School of Law were honored with the Hoyt Purvis Award for their service to the field of international education.

Joe Hatfield, Communication Faculty Member, Wins Dissertation of the Year Award

Hatfield's dissertation merges multiple methodological frameworks to analyze the mediated history of trans suicide, with a focus on the 2014 suicide of 17-year-old Leelah Alcorn.

News Daily