Benefield, Midkiff Win Animal Science Paul Noland Graduate Student Awards

Randi Benefield is the master's degree division winner of the Dr. Paul Noland Graduate Student Award in the Department of Animal Science.
Photo Submitted

Randi Benefield is the master's degree division winner of the Dr. Paul Noland Graduate Student Award in the Department of Animal Science.

Randi Benefield and Kirsten Midkiff have been named winners of the 2022 Dr. Paul Noland Graduate Student Award in U of A's Department of Animal Science.

Each year, the department's graduate student candidates present their current research. The competition evaluates students in three areas: abstract, oral presentation and curriculum vitae. One M.S. and one Ph.D. student are awarded a travel stipend to apply toward travel to regional or national conventions where they are presenting research.

Benefield is the master's degree winner and Midkiff is the Ph.D. recipient. Both will be recognized during the department's awards banquet.

Benefield's presentation was "Influence of Prenatal Exposure to Endophyte-Infected Tall Fescue on Glucose Metabolism in Weaned Steer Calves."

Midkiff's presentation was "Comparison of Tulathromycin and Gamithromycin as Metaphylactic Treatment on Growth Performance, Morbidity and Treatment Cost in High-Risk, Newly Received Beef Calves."

Judges for the contest were Sabrina Trudo and Sami Dridi. Trudo is associate professor of nutrition and holder of the 21st Century Endowed Chair in Human Environmental Sciences in the college's School of Human Environmental Sciences. Dridi is professor of avian endocrinology and molecular genetics in the Department of Poultry Science. Beth Kegley, professor of animal science, coordinated the event.  

The award commemorates the legacy of Paul R. Noland, an emeritus professor of animal science at the U of A. After receiving his doctoral degree in 1951 from Cornell University, he joined the U of A faculty. Noland served as department head of animal science from 1988-94, when he retired. In 2015, and the age of 91, Noland passed away.

About the Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences: Bumpers College provides life-changing opportunities to position and prepare graduates who will be leaders in the businesses associated with foods, family, the environment, agriculture, sustainability and human quality of life; and who will be first-choice candidates of employers looking for leaders, innovators, policy makers and entrepreneurs. The college is named for Dale Bumpers, former Arkansas governor and longtime U.S. senator who made the state prominent in national and international agriculture. For more information about Bumpers College, visit our website, and follow us on Twitter at @BumpersCollege and Instagram at BumpersCollege.

About the University of Arkansas: As Arkansas' flagship institution, the U of A provides an internationally competitive education in more than 200 academic programs. Founded in 1871, the U of A contributes more than $2.2 billion to Arkansas' economy through the teaching of new knowledge and skills, entrepreneurship and job development, discovery through research and creative activity while also providing training for professional disciplines. The Carnegie Foundation classifies the U of A among the top 3% of U.S. colleges and universities with the highest level of research activity. U.S. News & World Report ranks the U of A among the top public universities in the nation. See how the U of A works to build a better world at Arkansas Research News.


Daniela Medina, graduate assistant
Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences


Rescheduled: Campus Community Invited to 75 Years of Progress: The Lasting Legacy of Silas Hunt

A talk featuring alumna Arkie Byrd, titled "75 Years of Progress: The Lasting Legacy of Silas Hunt," has been rescheduled for noon Friday, Feb. 10, in Giffels Auditorium.

School of Art Recognizes First Windgate Accelerator Grant Winners

Maryalice Carroll, Adam Fulwiler, Jonathan Green, Abigail Henthorne, Charles Krampah, Penelope Starr-O'Berski, Fabian Rodriguez, Meredith Tinkle and Juliette Walker received $10,000 awards.

Kegley Recipient of Animal Science Society Distinguished Service Award

Beth Kegley, a professor of animal science, has been named recipient of the 2023 Southern Section Animal Science Distinguished Service Award by the American Society of Animal Science.

Williams Tabbed SEC Freshman of the Week

After a stellar start to her rookie season and a record-breaking weekend, the Gymbacks' Lauren Williams has been named SEC Freshman of the Week.

Students Can Provide Feedback About U of A for 'Top Colleges' Survey

The Wall Street Journal/College Pulse rankings are aimed to provide guidance to prospective students looking to continue their education careers. 

News Daily